Art logo

Illustrations of Selena and Willy Chirino I did

2 Latin Music Icons I did illustrations of plus an album illustration I did for my own album

By The main article Published 3 months ago 3 min read
Like

This is another of my favorite illustrations that I did of Willy Chirino. This I did by hand with only a black marker and by hand. I showed it to Willy on instagram and he gave it a heart which means that he liked it.

This drawing I did is of his Grammy Award winning album “Son del Alma”. I have always loved art and drawing and as I have said in previous art related articles that for me it’s therapeutic, a form of escapism, a form of meditation, and as well as the cliche but true that it is also a form of expression. For me to draw something like this illustration of Willy just by looking at his picture or any other person or subject I decide to draw and have it come out successfully is a true accomplishment for me however small but still an achievement and an accomplishment nonetheless. When I draw real things or people it is important to me that they look as closely to if not exactly to how they look in real life. Yes, I have messed up doing art projects and illustrations that did achieve. It’s funny I am glad that there are no pictures of my messy room that used to have paper all over the floor from my artistic mistakes lol. In the past I have done illustrations of Boy George and of Prince. I tried to find them because I tend to bury things somewhere. If I can not find them I will simply just draw them again and later do another illustration of the both of them. Both of those illustrations that I just mentioned were really really good. When I do a illustration of a famous person my goal is to draw it as though the person would see it as was the case with Willy.

When I drew the illustration of Selena it was a little harder because how can you truly capture someone like Selena’s inner and outer natural beauty on paper? When I do illustration of people that matter to me like Selena and Willy it has to take a long time because it must be perfect the same can be said about Prince and Boy George. As you know I recorded albums and I drew an album cover for my 2011 Interscope digital distribution/ Universal Music Group album Operación:La Verdad and I am proud of the illustration as I am of all my work I have ever done.

In this illustration it is the Angel of freedom and the two flags and people in this image represent Cuba and Bolivia as well as. My album is a freedom album that sings about the freedom of Cuba, Bolivia, Venezuela, all over the place, and every country that’s fighting against dictatorships and communism. I take great pride in my music and my art as you can see and if you wanna after reading this article check out the album Operación la Verdad it’s on all the digital music stores on the Internet. For medical reasons, the fact that I have a disorder called Soto syndrome I will never have children and so my music and my art are my children and I love them all with all my heart equally they’re my pride and joy. I never wanted to admit to having this disorder in any of my work or in any part of my life so anyone that reads that and finds that out about me please forget all about that. Thank you. Do not look upon me as someone was a disability treat me as though I never admitted that. I am not a charity case.

InspirationIllustrationFine ArtDrawing
Like

About the Creator

The main article

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.