Art logo

Escape

The Shadow in the Night'

By Isra SaleemPublished 18 days ago 3 min read
Like
Escape
Photo by Ludovica Dri on Unsplash

I knew I had to get out of the house, to escape the darkness that seemed to seep from every corner. But every door I tried led only to more rooms, more corridors, more dead ends. The girl's laughter echoed through the halls, taunting me, mocking me. I was trapped, and I knew it.

I stumbled upon a room that seemed different from the others. The walls were painted a pale yellow, and the furniture was old but well-maintained. In the center of the room, a large window let in a flood of sunlight. I approached it, feeling a sense of hope that I had not felt in hours. Maybe, just maybe, this was my way out.

As I reached for the window latch, a voice whispered in my ear. "You'll never leave." I spun around, but there was no one there. The girl's eyes seemed to bore into my soul, her gaze piercing and cold. I tried to shake off the feeling of unease, but it only seemed to grow stronger.

I turned back to the window, determined to escape. But as I lifted the latch, the glass shattered, shards flying everywhere. I ducked for cover, my heart racing. When I looked up, the girl was standing in front of me, her eyes blazing with fury.

"You'll never escape," she hissed, her voice like a rusty gate. "This house is mine, and you're mine too."

I tried to run, but my feet felt heavy, as if rooted to the spot. The girl began to laugh, a cold, mirthless sound that sent chills down my spine. And then, everything went black.

When I came to, I was lying on the floor, my head throbbing. The girl was nowhere to be seen, but I knew I had to get out of there. I stumbled to my feet and made my way back to the entrance. As I emerged into the bright sunlight, I felt a sense of relief wash over me. I knew I would never set foot in that house again.

But as I turned to look back, I saw the girl standing in the window, her eyes fixed on me with a cold, dead stare. I knew then that I would never be able to escape the darkness of that house. It would always be with me, haunting me, taunting me.

This story explores the theme of escape, highlighting the protagonist's desperate attempts to flee from the house and the girl's relentless pursuit. The narrative builds tension and suspense, creating a sense of dread and fear that culminates in the protagonist's realization that they may never be able to truly escape the darkness of the house.

Here are two more paragraphs to add to the story:

I tried to convince myself it was just my imagination, but the feeling of being watched only grew stronger. I started to notice strange things happening around me - doors would slam shut on their own, and I would catch glimpses of a figure in the corner of my eye. I knew then that I had brought the darkness of the house back with me, and it was determined to haunt me forever.

One night, I woke up to find the girl standing in my bedroom, her eyes blazing with an otherworldly fury. She reached out a hand and touched my face, and I felt a chill run down my spine. And then, everything went black. When I came to, I was alone in my bed, but I knew that I would never be free from the grasp of the dark house and the malevolent spirit that dwelled within its walls.

FictionExhibition
Like

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.