01 logo

WordPress is no Blogspot

navigating a blog platform can be challenging

By Robin Jessie-GreenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Writing Portfolio on WordPress

Back in 2008, I established my first blog More Mama Please?!, on the Blogspot platform. My entries were filled with TMI and overflowing with spilled tea. Eventually, I decided to showcase my writing rather than merely journal for the world to see. On Blogspot.com, it was and still is simple to post, update, add links and embed videos. It’s easy to be a Blogger on Blogspot. WordPress is another story.

My first impression of WordPress, why is it so difficult to navigate? How the heck do you get rid of the three sample blog posts they include on your new site to assist you? I signed up, I thought I understood the basics and was ready to get things rolling, but I was mistaken. I needed assistance with eliminating the assistance. I needed a tutorial for the tutorials.

The information provided in the WordPress sample posts is not helpful. First of all, it should state where to go to edit and or delete the sample posts once you’re ready to do so. The toolbar used for editing posts and pages is not visible when you are reading the samples. The settings you need to access are not readily accessible. This site-making platform could benefit from making their site more user-friendly.

As a writer reentering the freelance market, I have come across writing gigs that call for knowledge in WordPress. Naturally, I established a WordPress account to familiarize myself with the layout. I decided it would work well as my online writing portfolio. I quickly discovered WordPress should be simplified for beginners. Or those who are beginners and didn’t realize as much.

Initially, I played around with the theme, the various tools, background and font colors, and uploaded a pic. As for posting actual content, I repeatedly struggled with placement and previewing what I was certain I had successfully saved. The struggle was real.

After flipping back and forth between “Page Edits” versus “Post Edits”, I had created content that saved somewhere out there on the World Wide Web. I was convinced it wasn’t even on the modern-day Internet; it was lost in the original online realm. I don’t know who needs to hear this, but stay out of the “Block Editor Sidebar”. The “My Site” section and “My Home” hub is where it’s at.

Along the main editing toolbar, there are settings where “Site” is indicated. There you can find a menu to delete unwanted posts. By selecting “Posts” and then “Trash” next to the entry you would like to eliminate, you will save precious time that you can spend fiddling with all the other obscurely placed tools.

Delete pesky sample posts

Oddly enough, I had to manually make my “Blog” page the place on which I wanted my posts to appear. They did not automatically appear on that page when I selected “Write” to add a new post. Posts are separate from pages until you assign them to their final resting place.

Signing up for a WordPress.com site is free. Although there are various paid options they encourage you to purchase, they still allow you to get your feet wet for free. Purchasing a site provides you with more features. I don’t know if that’s why I can’t find where to add tags to the end of my posts or not? Mastering the free site prior to taking on an expense would be wise for those who are inexperienced.

As with anything unfamiliar, it takes time to develop skills. Even though the initial setup of my WordPress site was embarrassingly lengthy, I can see the appeal. Blogspot is still my go-to choice for easy posting. However, once I get the hang of using WordPress I will endeavor to learn how to use its various features in order to become more competitive in the paid writing job market.

Writing Portfolio on WordPress

Which do you prefer between Blogspot and WordPress?

If you'd like to see more from me, kindly give a coin of encouragement.

product review
3

About the Creator

Robin Jessie-Green

Temple University BA and AIU Online MBA Alumna.

Content Contributor for Medium, eHow, Examiner, Experts123, AnswerBag, Medicine-guides.com and various other sites spanning a decade.

Visit my Writing Portfolio to see what else I've written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.