01 logo

Why Boost Mobile Stinks

Boost Mobile Review

By Amanda J MollettPublished 5 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

My son and I currently have boost mobile and while there are some things that I really like about them, I also really dislike them. When I first went to boost I came from Metro PCS and I was looking for better phones and even better service, but what I got was a lot of headaches. I have been with boost for about three years now and what I liked when I first got them was that I got $25 dollars from a friend's referral credited to my second phone bill. I also liked that with the first bill paid, I would get Hulu free for 6 months (as long as the bill was paid on time).

After having service with them for about 1 1/2-2 years, my phone fell and cracked and I was having other issues with my phone as well that had me looking for another phone. I finally set on the Samsung Galaxy J7 Refine which I got a good deal on buying online. I thought it was working well. After having it for about a month and a half, I started to notice I had an issue with the phone. My husband and I are in two different towns and I use an app called ACR to record our telephone calls so that when I can not talk to him and I am missing him, I can go back and listen to our calls. I just assumed it was working fine. I guess that was my first mistake. I tried to go back to a recording we had had a few days before when I could not remember the song that was played at his dad's funeral. However, I could not listen to it when I tried to play it. Instead, it sounded like an alien Alvin and the Chipmunks on speed.

I tried to fix the problem myself, I took the phone into the store where I first got my service, I called many times the Boost care line, and I even chatted with their tech support. The first time that I called, the lady told me that it was because my voicemail was not set up and as soon as I selected a greeting I would only need to wait 15 minutes and every thing would be working like it was supposed to. I asked her if it was not working still, what I would need to do and she assured me that it would be working, but if it for some reason was not, I would need to call back and they would have to connect me to another tech support agent from Samsung specifically.

When in the store, they tried to tell me that it was the app, not the phone. They uninstalled the app and installed it again. One guy looked on Google for what to do. (Like I could not do that myself, and yes I already had done just that.) I continued to be told by both agents that it was the app. I asked them if it was the app, then why did the other apps that did the same thing sound the same way? They continued to tell me that it was the app. The woman asked me if when on the phone it sounded the same and since I said no it did not, then that is why she said it was the app. However, she could not offer an answer for why the other apps would not work as well. So, I had to return to the cracked phone I was having issues with. All and all, I would say not a big fan of Boost.

mobile
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.