01 logo

What is Apple's black technology

From my experience, I think it's the iPhone generation.

By JackmarkPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

As a minor competitor to the iPhone at the time, I was one of the developers of the Windows Mobile (now called Windows Phone) operating system, and the experience of being crushed to shreds and making my own mistakes is one I'll remember forever. In 2005, Windows Mobile was the cool thing to do, with more than 80% of the smartphone market (but only 10% of the phone market overall? Left or right, mainly because it's expensive). I joined MS in 2005 as one of the developers of a high-end mobile operating system and felt pretty good about myself. The internal description of this product is as follows: the market needs a long nurturing process. It is estimated that in five to ten years, smart phones will become the mainstream, and Microsoft will bring the glory of PC to the mobile phone market, and WM will dominate the mobile phone market operating system. I completely bought the story. In 2006~2007, each development of Windows Mobile (Windows Mobile) was equipped with 2 PCS, 1 notebook, and 2~3 smart phones. I like this luxurious programming environment very much, and I also enjoy sharing WM with friends. After all, it is very cold...... Until I saw a video forwarded by an insider. It was Steve Jobs's iPhone launch, and my first thought was: How is that possible? . Yeah, how is that even possible? Within 40 square meters of me, there are prototypes of all the new smartphones that have been released in the world, not just from MS ally Dopop, but also from Nokia, Moto, and even some small European brands. I've never seen such a stunning system. At the same time, those demonstrations gradually translated into software instructions and hardware adaptations in my mind, and I clearly knew the limits of what was known in the industry today. No combination could produce a system that did those operations well. For example, Keyboard input characters with thumb (WM must be clicked accurately with pen), two fingers to enlarge photos, natural stretch of camera when drawing pictures... There were so many details and technical points that WM could do, but they were never meant to be used by a normal person (as someone later proved). I didn't know much about Jobs at the time, and I thought he was using other AIDS and bragging. But there was a voice in his heart: What if it's true? That phone is so beautiful that I want to hit the wall... The department was silent for a short time, and then a story came out: This is a really nice shell (user interaction part on mobile phone), and we will upgrade our system to deal with this challenge. I believe this story again, after all, when it comes to operating systems, MS has a lot of experience. The iPhone 1 went on sale in September or October 2007, and I went to Seattle in November to buy one (well, Apple offered a discount to Microsoft employees based on their work ID, I don't know if that tradition still exists). The second I used it, I knew it was the phone I wanted, my Dream phone, and... It's not my smartphone. When I use it alone, I feel like crying. The perfect combination of technology and design completely exceeds my cognition and makes me clearly feel the existence of the technological gap. I don't need to say more about the effect, everyone knows, after all, these operations are now common, to compare and pull out the functions of the ancient times of the smartphone. I don't want to bore you with the rest of the big story. Apple single-handedly brought the world into the wireless Internet age, and I'm not the only one who would like to give a knee, so I'll continue with my own story. After a long silence within the department, we heard another story: MS's strengths lie in enterprise solutions, in the perfect combination of mobile and business (mainly Office), and of course, we will immediately rebuild our UI, etc. The head of the department was very contagious, and with my iPhone in my pocket, I was convinced again! After two more years of refactoring, Windows Phone was still in its early form, and for those of you who care, it was released in 2011 or so. In 2009 the WM China team was laid off and I left for my present company. When I left my job, one of my colleagues told me that they were preparing for a start-up related to mobile phones, and asked me if I would like to talk about it. I was so complicated about the mobile phone industry, and with my family situation, I lost all interest in it. If I'd known it was Rebus, it might have made a difference, because he's a homeboy, he's got eyes on him. Later to see him for millet all kinds of cameras, but also feel very interesting, he used to be in the media performance style is not such, for mobile phone to do this step is very rare. After that, it had nothing to do with the phone industry. ============== Thank you for your patience to read through this journey, I will take you from the identity of a former practitioner, with me to experience why I think the iPhone 1 generation is black technology: 1. The technology was more than one big gear ahead of the best at the time. 2. Crushing peers (MS barely followed after 4 years) 4. Parody only stands a chance (Android) 5. Of course, but also can add me this weight meager hurt heart, from then on became the false fruit fan and passed so many years, summarize oneself in those days make two, is a point of illicit goods, interested in the friend reference 1. If it is a dream (phone), it should give all it has. For example, even if I don't want to go from MS to Apple, I should take most of my savings and buy Apple stock. Yes, after buying the iPhone in 2007, I took a look at the Apple stock (now worth less than $30 per share after the split) and did nothing about it. Reflect on your contradictions. On the one hand, I believed the iPhone was a dream, on the other hand, I was convinced by the apparently contradictory story. Sometimes I wonder if I was brainwashed too much when I was young. Be brave. After so many years of working in WM, there was no good output. I was addicted to negative emotions for some time and didn't even want to have a chat. Positive temperament has been the main street, the key is whether you can brave to face up to and adjust. When Steve Jobs came out in 2011, it was the first biography I ever really wanted to read. I flipped through the pages, trying to find the answer. Now remember, the iPhone preparation, Jobs began five years before the launch. It was 2002, and I deserved to lose. The black technology felt by the opponent is pregnant and inevitable to himself.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.