01 logo

Validation Resolution for Virtual Reality

Rest and Relax

By Vicky DiMichelePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
5

As much as I love to be connected to others, I’ve realized that I first need to be connected to myself. Taking on this challenge for a resolution this year can be tough but I’ve found a solace in my mind with the help of virtual reality. I’ve been an advocate of this emerging technology for years and love seeing how it can help progress an individual to become the best they can be. From workout programs to education, there are applications for every interest.

My focus this year though is to grow my meditation practices. There have been multiple apps I’ve tried throughout my time in virtual reality but I’ve recently found my new favorite in the App Lab with Oculus.

Maloka takes you on an Immersive Meditation Journey and really gamifies the experience. The meditations are carefully designed in close collaboration with expert content partners to help develop different techniques of meditation to expand your mind.

The installation was easy and setting up my account was seamless. Once downloaded to my Oculus account, it asked to pair with an app on my phone so I can practice even if I am not going to be using my headset that day. I walked through personal questions like what was my favorite color and found my “spirit guide” who is a cute little character, helping me through the practices.

There is a quick tutorial and then a meditation portal pops up in your Island space. You have the option of a few 5 minute sessions to walk you through the basics of clearing your mind. The scenes are light and focused with fantastic colors that grow into interesting patterns. The calming voice guides you to breathe with the expansion and deflation of the scene you are viewing. After a few sessions, the voice disappears and you are left to your own breath.

With each practice you complete, you gain points to grow your totem and spirit guide, leveling up as you go. There are also orbs that pop up after some completions that are gifts to decorate your island or open up new levels. You can receive plants to place in different areas along with statues and crystals that give your island a more personal feel. As you walk around, there are different sounds that play depending on your location. For example, when you stand by the waterfall, there is the sound of a peaceful river.

My favorite area so far is the second portal that looks like a grove of trees. In this space, there are multiple Sound Baths to choose from where you sit back, close your eyes and free your mind. Each sound bath journey takes me to a different place in my mind. After the second time I did one, I went to my bed to lay down and felt a warm spot on my forehead where I’ve heard the third eye appears. It was an interesting sensation to say the least. My next interesting experience was just last night during another sound bath. I felt a warm glow in my chest as I was listening to the grounding practice and just felt happy.

The next portal takes you to a more active practice. There are floating rocks that help guide you through simple movements with your arms to release tension and stimulate your muscles along with your mind. I did not realize that by just sitting in my chair, I could relax and stretch as much as this app guides me to do.

In each of these practices, you begin with a simple 5 minute session. Once complete, you have option appear to do longer ones for 10, 15 or 20 minutes. If there is a session you really connect with, you always have the option to go back into that one and do it again. This is very helpful if I only have a short amount of time and want to keep my daily streak going. (I admit, Tetris is always calling my name in VR…)

Although this app is still in its test phase, I’m so excited to see how it develops. I would love to experience a section in the future with guided meditations. This resolution to focus on myself has really started to change me for the better. I’m happy with my routine of meditating before I go to bed. It has really helped me relax and clear my mind before resting my head on my pillow at night. I’m more mindful of what I need and I’m more focused on expressing those needs. I’ve realized that people are not mind readers. I’m more focused on pushing my energy out into the world instead of sitting back and absorbing what is around me.

I’m now being proactive with my one life to live.

Click here to check it out for yourself!

product review
5

About the Creator

Vicky DiMichele

Travel blogger, author and wine lover who loves creativity in all aspects of life.

@genxluxetravel & @graphixmgr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.