01 logo

Touch a Heart Tuesday

Do you want to Touch Everything and Light up the Room?

By Lynne BlackPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Touch a Heart Tuesday is today! So, this day is all about putting a little bit of love into your heart and sharing it with others.

Touch a Heart

In the first place, this day was created by Lorraine Jara as a way to show a little love goes a long way.

In 1988, Lorraine read a story about two men in the town where she lived – Toms River, New Jersey who flipped over in a row boat. Well, two ladies who were in another boat pulled them from the cold water. Because they didn’t have a radio to call for help; two other boats with antennas passed by but didn’t stop. In fact, one of them said, “they couldn’t be bothered”.

Sadly, one of the men who fell in the water died. Lorraine was sad to hear about this tragedy and wanted to start a day to honor one of the men who died. So, she started, Be Kind to Humankind Week.

How to Celebrate Touch a Heart Tuesday

When you think about ways to observe this day as well as Be Kind to Humankind Week; there are many things you can do.

For example, these are a few of my suggestions.

Give a compliment to someone. Check out my Compliment Yourself – National Compliment Your Mirror Day post for tips on complimenting others.

Listen! Because many of us don’t fully listen to people, don’t interrupt. Give someone the opportunity to finish what they are saying. Visit my June is Effective Communications Month post for tips on being a better communicator.

Mail a card to someone, just because.

Offer to volunteer your time at a nursing home or help an elderly neighbor or relative.

Smile!

Tell people close to you, you love them.

Finally, tell a person to call you if there is anything you can do. However, most people don’t call as they don’t want to bother you., So, instead, you can follow up with them.

Touch a Heart any day

Though this day is observed on August 30th; you shouldn’t need a day once a year to remind yourself to show humanity. Moreover, this should be on everyone’s agenda.

In my opinion, I think too many people, including ourselves, get wrapped up in things we need to do. However, there are several ways we can change and be more present in the moment.

For instance, if you take a minute to reach out to a friend or relative to smile or talk; imagine the positive impact you may have on someone.

Personally, I know when I’m feeling sad; and a friend sends me a special card or calls me; that means a lot to me.

Recently, I had so many things happen in my personal life. A special friend went above and beyond. She sent me cards, made me special mementos, and just called often. And, you know who you are. You are a special person who I’m blessed to have in my life.

Have a Positive Influence

Simply, being there is often enough to make a difference in someone else’s life. So, next time you see someone upset; talk to them. Ask them what is wrong. Is there anything you can do to help?

Because most of us are so busy in our everyday lives; hit the pause button.

Breathe!

Indeed, one of the most important things you can do is show your support to others.

Check out my Celebrate Kindness Day post on ways to have a positive impact on someone else’s life. Sometimes the little things we do to make someone’s day can have a positive impact

As always, I welcome your comments on what you will do to Touch a Heart Tuesday.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lynne Black

Hi - I'm Lynne Black, Founder of Fashionista Bombshell Whims!

I'm a Freelance Writer/Blogger and Published Author.

My stories and posts offer a peek into my life.

Of course, my goal is to inspire you through my books and articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.