01 logo

The Pros and Cons of Deleting Your Social Media Profiles

An honest look at the pros and cons of a life without social media from an ex-social media addict.

By Jessica NoelPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

I began deleting my social media profiles in the spring of 2022.

I'd deserted Facebook years ago, so that one was already long gone. Twitter and Tiktok were the next to go, and the easiest - I hardly ever used them. Instagram followed shortly after, and proved a little more difficult, as I had a small following on my homesteading page that I was sad to see go.

Snapchat was the last, and by far the most challenging. My sister and I literally had one of the longest streaks in the world. I told her in advance, we took about three months to say our goodbyes to our shot at ever being Snapchat's longest running streak, and then... It was gone.

By the end of June, I'd let them all go.

It took me a couple of weeks to adjust to the new rhythms of life without social media. Frankly - it was like losing a limb. I kept reaching for my phone to open Instagram, to send a Snapchat, to scroll Twitter.

Bored while breastfeeding? I couldn’t just… scroll through Instagram for parenting memes to send to my husband. Weird.

Wondering what was happening in the world? Well, I wasn’t going to find out from my nonexistent newsfeeds. I guess I could read a newspaper?

Curious about what friends were up to? To find out, I had to, you know… Actually call them.

Suddenly I was spending a lot more time staring blankly at my phone.

These were all foreign concepts to me. Like most younger Millennials, I joined social media as a teenager and pretty much never looked back. Although I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with social media, when it comes down to it, I’ve spent more than half of my life getting my information - about the world, and about my friends - from the internet.

I know I’m not the only one recently who’s made the shift towards a life without social media. We all know how social media can negatively affect your mental health, how it amplifies body dysmorphia in young adults, and how it has a direct link to extremism.

If you're thinking about moving away from social media yourself, here's an honest look at the pros and cons of a life without social media from someone who’s lived it for the past half a year, so you can decide if it’s the right move for you.

The Pros of Deleting Your Social Media Accounts

Pro #1: You'll develop more genuine relationships

As a consequence of deleting my social media, I have to work a lot harder to stay in contact with my friends and family. I'm no longer getting casual, everyday updates, and I can no longer just heart a photo to show that I'm paying attention and thinking of them.

This has resulted in relationships that are more genuine and meaningful — it’s amazing how much your relationships will shift when you go from just liking somebody’s posts to having ongoing conversations with them.

I feel like I understand the people in my life more. I used to know about the tiny things — what they ate for dinner, who went on vacation — but now I ask about the big things instead. Sorry you didn't get that big promotion you wanted. You deserve better. What are you going to do next? I just saw a job opportunity that made me think of you, should I send it your way?

I FaceTime people. I text frequently. I send care packages and letters.

All these things that I might have done occasionally have now become common-place as I work — actually work — at my relationships. And my relationships are much better for it.

Pro #2: You'll be able to focus on what really matters

Social media is like having a thousand people talking at you (not to you) 24/7. Without that constant blare, I’ve had more room to think, and have been better able to define what’s important to me.

As it turns out... Social media is NOT one of those things.

Deleting my social media accounts has brought me a peace and clarity of mind that's almost indescribable. I don't wake up every morning and reach for my phone automatically. I don't scroll through Tiktok at the breakfast table, or feel the need to photograph every single thing that happens in my life. (Because if you don't share it with your followers, did it even happen?)

Maybe you've always known what's important to you - I thought I did, too. But deleting my social media profiles has really offered me a new perspective on how I spend my time.

Pro #3: You can start actually living the life you’ve always dreamed of

Delete your social media accounts and suddenly you’ll find that you have all kinds of free time on your hands. Combined with a new focus on what actually matters, and you can start to shift your life in ways you never would've expected.

Want to create passive income streams? Focus more on your family? Write a novel? Do it!

What’s stopping you? Without social media, you’ve got the time and the clarity of mind to actually do it.

Speaking personally, since I quit social media, I've...

  • Published over 30,000 words of writing (both on Vocal and other platforms)
  • Started a passion product
  • Read 30+ books

And so much more.

Pro #4: You'll find fulfilling hobbies outside of the internet

In a world that seems to spend more time online than offline, it’s good to have some hobbies that remind you that life exists outside of the internet.

For me personally, I’ve gotten really into taking walks with my family, raising chickens (!), and writing.

Anything that gets me outside is a winner, which is funny, because before I deleted my social media accounts, you never would’ve caught me on a hike. Now I try to get outside every day. My definition of what makes a good hobby has changed for the better.

The Cons of Deleting Your Social Media Accounts

Con #1: You’ll never be the first to know

Life will continue to happen around you, both locally and internationally. The difference is that you won't be constantly bombarded with it.

Your friends get engaged? A cause you care about is looking for volunteers? There’s a humanitarian crisis abroad?

You’ll still find out about these things (I recommend a good email newsletter to keep on top of important news), but you won’t be the first to know. Or the fiftieth. Or the five hundredth.

I literally didn't know Queen Elizabeth II had died until three days after her death, when I caught up on my email newsletters.

"The Queen is dead!" I shouted to my husband, aghast.

"Uh, yeah, I know," he responded. "She died like a week ago."

This can be a good thing and a bad thing. Either way, it’s ultimately something you’ll need to make peace with if you decide to delete your social media profiles.

You won’t ever be easily in the know again; there’ll be no casual scrolling through your feed while you’re bored at the grocery store. It'll be up to you to consciously curate what sort of information you consume. It's both a blessing and a curse.

Con #2: You’ll lose friends

On a related note: you’ll lose friends (some), and acquaintances (many).

True friends won’t mind texting you individually about big pieces of news - they may even want to tell you personally! But everyone else? Your kinda-sorta friends, your work bff from two jobs ago, your old yoga teacher?

No longer are you going to be aware of the minutiae of their everyday lives. More than likely, you’re going to lose contact with them altogether.

This might hurt, or it might be a relief. It might even be a combo of both - that's okay too.

If there are people you’re absolutely sure you don’t want to lose touch with, send them a personal message before you delete your profiles. Hey friend, how are you? It’s been a while! I’m going to be deleting my profile here, but I didn’t want us to lose touch. This is my number - we should meet up soon! I still think about (a specific memory you share).

Don't send a mass message unless you want to get bogged down with a hundred different questions and goodbyes. Delete and move on.

Con #3: You’ll miss out on social opportunities

Similarly, you’ll miss out on social opportunities. From last minute requests to hang out to Facebook events, a lot of social planning has moved online. You might not know about things until it’s too late to participate.

For example, I recently found out about a really cool festival I wanted to go to… the day after the festival was held. Oof. I was bummed. If I had Facebook, I definitely would’ve seen the post on the organization’s page.

But that's okay - now I’m going next year, instead. Be aware, however, that these types of things will happen.

Con #4: You’ll be the odd one out

Most people have social media. Consequently, should the topic ever come up (and it will!), people will find it curious that you don't.

Be prepared to talk about it! I’ve never had an extremely judgemental reaction before, but opinions have varied. You'll be a bit of a novelty.

People also solidify their new friendships by following each other on social media. Obviously, that won't be an option for you. Likewise, you won't be able to support your friend's new business or your sister's music career by liking and commenting on their social media posts.

It's not the end of the world - you can be a good friend without social media, and you can support new endeavors in other ways - but it can make life a bit more difficult or awkward.

Who are you without your social media profiles?

Conclusion:

Honestly? Living as a young adult who doesn't use social media is really weird. Sometimes I get serious FOMO. I literally can't believe I didn't know the Queen had died. And even though it's been several months... I still kind of miss Instagram.

But I don't regret it. The sense of freedom is unparalleled. I feel like I'm in control of my own life. My anxiety has noticeably improved. I'm more focused, more curious, and more caring.

In the end, I think the decision to delete your social media really comes down to one basic question: what’s important to you? And if you can answer that, you'll know if it's the right move for you.

pop culturesocial medialist
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Noel

Jessica writes from her homestead in the backwoods of New England. When she’s not writing, she’s probably chasing chickens, studying herbalism, or encouraging her daughter to stomp in mud puddles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.