01 logo

Tablets as an Impromptu Note Taking Solution Are Still Flawed

Pen and paper are still a technological marvel.

By Chris CarabottPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Tablets as an Impromptu Note Taking Solution Are Still Flawed
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Ever since I purchased my first iPad 12 years ago, I have been hooked on the form factor. As big as a sheet of paper, or smaller, these devices make media consumption on-the-go a breeze. They have gotten lighter, faster, and now have as much power as some laptop computers.

Despite their evolution over the years, they haven’t quite become the all-in-one solution I have been hoping for. At least not for a power user such as myself. My previous analysis of the iPad as an all-in-one solution can be found below.

However, the iPad, and all tablets for that matter, are still capable of facilitating certain aspects a daily workflow. They are great machines for video conferencing, collaborating via email or Teams, and if you work in the arts, they are a great option for drawing on the go.

As a writer, I have always been enamoured with the idea of using my iPad as a primary note taking device. It should be a simple enough task, especially with the Apple Pencil.

I can just pull it out of my satchel when a thought strikes me and… oh wait, there’s an urgent notification I should respond to. That’s done, now where is that notes app? *Clicks to create a new note* Shoot, that moment of inspiration is gone.

Tablet manufacturers and publishers of note taking applications have tried to address this issue with quick gestures and other similar solutions. In all cases however, I still find that the barrier between *inspirational thought* to jotting it down on the tablet takes far too long.

There are also those situations when you want to take a quick note but you’re a little nervous taking an expensive tablet out of your bag to write out a few notes. Poor weather conditions or even a sunny day can make the process more difficult.

By Suganth on Unsplash

When it came to novels, I made the transition from physical to digital without issue. That probably has a lot to do with the fact that the transition allowed me to carry an entire library with me and I could easily adjust font size and paper colour to make reading easier on the eyes. It solved problems. It didn’t create them.

As for note taking, I have found myself reverting to the tried-and-true method of pen and paper. It still provides the smallest barrier to putting thoughts down on paper.

I am not sure when the tablet will reach that moment when it becomes quick and easy to jot down an impromptu note, but I haven’t seen a solution yet that has compelled me to switch back. However, I do transfer my notes to a tablet every-so-often. I actually find this process a great way to re-connect with my old thoughts and add additional details or brainstorm further on certain ideas.

I am not entirely against note taking on tablets, I do think they can be a great solution for a classroom setting or a meeting if you have a strong grasp of the technology you are using. The barrier of “impromptu” note taking isn’t an issue here as you have time to prepare yourself before you need to take notes.

The rise of tablets and smartphones has changed the world, but it still hasn’t replaced some of the simpler tasks that we take for granted. I would love to eliminate paper completely, but until a solution is found I won’t abandon pen and paper for note taking.

Let me know what you prefer in the comments below.

Until next time, keep writing.

gadgetsvintagemobile
Like

About the Creator

Chris Carabott

I’m a Toronto, Ontario native with over 13 years of freelance writing experience in the fields of television, video games, and technology. I have written hundreds of reviews and articles for websites like IGN, Vocal, and Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.