01 logo

Review of my new Moto G Power

Solid Option for a Low-Priced Upgrade

By Jason APublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I get a new cell phone, I am not one to even consider the thought of running out there any buying the latest iPhone, Google Pixel or Samsung Galaxy models that can cost more than some people's luxury car payments, rent or even mortgage. Personally, I think that's ridiculous. I try to find the best option I can at the lowest price point. Having Google Fi as my service, the Moto G Power (2021) was my choice when I make the decision in December. After about a month of use, here are my views on the device.

Battery Life

One of the major factors people tend to consider is battery life. I have to say, there is both good and bad in that area. The battery is fantastic and lasts a very long time. I am highly impressed at how few times I've had to plug her in during the first month of use. This is even the case when it comes to using the Internet and having a lot of apps that are not exactly friendly when it comes to power usage.

The negative part here though is that for as well as the battery lasts, it takes a long time to charge compared to my previous phone. I was used to getting a full charge pretty quick but this guy takes it's time. That may be a bit of a turnoff for some users.

It can also take a bit to start up sometimes.

Camera

The camera is touted as having 48 megapixels. But, as any real photographer knows, megapixels are not the be all and end all of photography. The small nature of a phone's sensor limits what that number actually means and the zoom is a little disappointing. Even with all of that, I would say it has some very nice features and generally takes a good shot.

Two of my favorite features are the macro mode and the PRO mode. If you are attempting to do a close-up of something small, the phone automatically asks you if you want to switch to macro mode. This is a nice option to have and helps you get detailed shots. The second feature is one that gets about as close as you can to having the abilities or a real DSRL camera given the natural limitations of a phone. If you select PRO mode, you will be able to play around with white balance, shutter speed, ISO and even auto focus.

Screen and Sound

The screen is a good size and very clear. It's not quite as bright as my old camera but more than sufficient. It responds well to touch and seems pretty durable. When it comes to the sound, I would say speakerphone is good but could be a little louder. The clarity of calls is very good and music sounds nice on it also. No real complaints there.

Overall Functioning

The speed of the phone and internal storage for my version is more than adequate. I also like the fact that it allows you to add external storage. Connecting to Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are pretty easy. My overall impression on this model is that for the typical user, you will likely be pleased with this phone. Sure, it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of some of the big guys out there but it also doesn't have that insane price tag. Unless you are planning on using your phone for some really, really high end stuff, and are pretty much an average user, I don't think you will have any problems with this baby at all.

mobile
Like

About the Creator

Jason A

Writer, photographer and graphic design enthusiast with a professional background in journalism, poetry, e-books, model photography, portrait photography, arts education and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.