01 logo

Plugged in to Read

Real Books vs E-Readers

By Joan GershmanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
Plugged in to Read
Photo by Nemichandra Hombannavar on Unsplash

In spite of my reported mishaps with technical devices gone awry as evidenced by the following stories-

I Earned an A

The Importance of Keeping Your Writing Safe

Customer Service Nightmare

I do love 21st century technology. One of my favorites is the ability to read books on a handheld portable tablet ( IPad, Kindle Fire, Nook). This miraculous technology has allowed me to:

*No longer lug a suitcase full of books on a week-long vacation.

*Have an entire library of books from which to choose, on one tablet thinner than a notepad.

*Adjust the font size of the print so that I do not need a magnifying glass to see it.

*Learn the definition of an unfamiliar word with the press of a fingertip that takes me straight to a dictionary.

*Buy a new book instantly with another press of a fingertip.

*Borrow a book from my local library and have it instantly appear on the tablet.

The one downside to a Kindle or IPad is that their backlights are not conducive to reading in the sunlight. I solved that problem by buying an inexpensive, simple Kindle E-Reader that does not function as a computer like the IPad or Kindle Fire. Its only function is to read books and it can be read outside in the sun. All of the books that are stored on my IPad are also stored on my E-Reader, and continually updated by me pressing “sync” on the E-Reader.

Last Sunday, I was reading one of those suspenseful murder mysteries that I knew I was not going to be able to put down until I had finished it. Then I noticed at around 4 o’clock in the afternoon, I had only 20% battery power left on my IPad! A panic unknown in my first 5 decades on earth set in - the decades in which one did not need battery power to read a book. I CAN’T run out of battery power before I finish this book, I thought. I CAN’T.

I know that at this point you are thinking……………….What an idiot she is. Why didn’t she just plug the IPad into the charger and keep reading? Because the charger cord was too short to reach from any of the wall plugs to any of the chairs in which I could sit.

Being the industrious sort that I am, I figured out a solution. I placed the IPad on the end table next to the wall, plugged it in to charge, then took out my fully charged E-Reader, pressed “sync” and continued reading.

Once I finished the book, I thought about the wonders of the technology age I had been praising. Had I been a bit too quick to extoll the virtues of electronic reading? Are we inching toward a time when paper books will be unavailable, and we will only be able to read if we are “charged” or “plugged in”? I cannot imagine being unable to have a book, whether for information or pleasure, at my disposal anytime, without having to worry about a plug being nearby.

I want freedom from battery power worries to read a book for hours at the beach or at a park. But I also want the conveniences listed above, such as font adjustment and an instant dictionary, conveniences only technology can provide. The proverbial “have your cake and eat it too” scenario.

Oh, excitement! According to Google,Researchers create blueprint for 'quantum battery' that doesn't lose charge"

The aforementioned article, which I valiantly attempted to read, but was written in language only physicist Sheldon Cooper from the Big Bang Theory TV show could understand, did not mention if this miraculous invention would be available during my decreasing life span.

In the meantime, while I am out this afternoon, I will make sure that my IPad and E-Reader are plugged in and charging to their full capacity. I am on Book #1 of a 12 book FBI mystery/thriller series. I need all the battery power I can get.

Which do you prefer - E-reading or traditional books? A combination? What do you like about each? My curious nature wants to know.

gadgets
4

About the Creator

Joan Gershman

Retired - Speech/language therapist, Special Education Asst, English teacher

Websites: www.thealzheimerspouse.com; talktimewithjoan.com

Whimsical essays, short stories -funny, serious, and thought-provoking

Weightloss Series

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.