01 logo

I Tried the HOBOT Window Cleaning Robot and I'll Never Use Windex Again

Finally! There's a new way to cut down on cleaning time even when you have a high rise.

By Sasha KonikovoPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I signed up for a year of renting a high rise apartment, there were certain things I expected to happen. For example, I expected to be able to point out my building to others from miles away. I expected rent to be a pinch higher than what others would typically shell out.

What I didn't expect was discovering how difficult it would be to wash the windows in my living room.

You see, my apartment's windows are floor-to-ceiling. That means that I get a full workout just by being there and cleaning my windows.

After the third month of cleaning my windows, I got fed up. I needed something different. I didn't want to live in an apartment where I'd get a sore back just from maintaining my place.

Thankfully, things changed after my friends gave me a HOBOT for my housewarming gift.

At my housewarming party, my friends gifted me a HOBOT—and it took me by surprise. It was unlike anything I ever saw before. It was square, had a bump on the middle of it, and also came with a handheld remote control.

It didn't really register that this was a window cleaning robot because it was such a strange looking thing. However, my friend was quick to point out that it was designed to wash windows without having me crouching and scrubbing away.

My friends told me that it was the fastest window cleaning robot on the market, and one of the few that didn't require a cleaning solvent like Windex to work.

Curious, I asked them to help me learn how to use it.

As it turned out, using the HOBOT was really simple.

This robot was incredibly easy to use. All you had to do was lean it against the glass and let the HOBOT's powerful suction "glue" it to the window. Then, you just use a remote control to tell the vacuum when to clean, and when to stop.

The HOBOT uses special, reusable, microfiber cloths to pick up dust and grime. The vacuum then removes any leftovers. The end result is a streak-free clean, minus all the elbow grease needed to scrub your window clean.

Once it's done, all you need to do is charge it up for next time.

The HOBOT cleaner looked amazing, but I've heard of people who had similar robotic window cleaners in the past that had them fall and break. I was reasonably nervous that mine would just be doing its job one day, only to fall and smash into a million little pieces.

HOBOT's engineers recognized this worry. That's why they offered a safety-oriented design that prevents the robot from falling as a result of losing power. It also came with sensors that detect obstacles and frames, plus a high strength safety rope for good measure.

Though you don't have to use the safety rope, I felt like it was a good choice for me. I'm cautious like that.

The first trial with the HOBOT was pretty impressive.

The HOBOT might be powered by a vacuum, but it certainly wasn't noisy. It did exactly what it was supposed to do—glide across the window, remove the grime, and avoid obstacles. It didn't fall, it didn't miss any spots, nor did it require Windex.

Watching it go was really impressive. The HOBOT apparently can reach speeds of a square meter in 2.4 minutes, which is honestly faster than my top window washing speed.

It was even able to clean the outside of the windows.

On a whim, I decided to open up my balcony door and place the HOBOT on the outside. Even with the dust that flew up from the streets, the little vacuum robot was capable of chugging away and cleaning everything effortlessly.

Just like with the results I got last time around, the windows were spotless and streak-free. I'm not going to lie; I was impressed. New York City air does not bode well for windows!

Did I mention it was Windex-free?

My boyfriend has a super sensitive sense of smell, and to a point, that's what made living in a high rise so hard. I'd pour on the Windex and clean my heart out.

Back then, I'd have a hard time convincing him to show up because the Windex fumes would irritate his nose. No Windex means that he enjoys my place more, too.

Ever since I started to use the HOBOT, clean windows haven't been a problem since.

HOBOT is one of the best things to happen to my apartment, not to mention my back. It's been an amazing way to keep my place clean, reduce my chore time, and even make sure my home cleans itself while I'n out at work.

No matter how I look at it, HOBOT's been one of the best gifts I've ever gotten. If you love a clean home but hate cleaning up, this is a must-have that's worth ever penny.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Sasha Konikovo

Born in the Ukraine and currently a citizen of New York City, Sasha Konikovo has become obsessed with makeup, fashion, and anything that keeps her svelte figure looking sharp. She hopes to marry a billionaire and have a lifestyle like Paris Hilton soon enough.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.