01 logo

I Finally Retired My Blackberry Cell Phone

Now, I have to retire my old Blackberry Q10 cell phone, but why, it still works!

By Dave WettlauferPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Blackberry Cell Phones

I just received my monthly cell phone bill. Along with the invoice the phone hosting informed me that they would no longer be providing services for the Blackberry format.

At that point, they proceeded to say, "Real Soon." But don't fret none; we have you covered. We can slide you right into a newer, updated cell phone at a discounted price.

Not having bought a new cell phone for many years I dread the thought of find out what they’re even worth today.

I checked, "DO YOU KNOW WHAT THOSE SUCKERS ARE (WORTH) cost TODAY!"

So it's official, I have to retired my old Blackberry. I haven't any choice now, but I'm upset because it's still working fine like an Eveready battery. It just keeps going.

It's my third cell phone from Research in Motion in Waterloo, Ontario, and every time, I think I should retire my old friend to the cell phones in the sky. I hear these roomers they're coming back, but they're really not!

After sheading a few crock-a-dials tears and finally getting a grip on reality, they're not coming back I have to resort to buying some inferior type of phone!

Most people reading up-till-now are probably saying, what’s this Canadian smoken today?

What is a Blackberry?

A few years back this device was a trade mark name for a new revolutionary-style cell phone. On its hay day, Blackberry took the world by storm. The company manufacturer was called Research in Motion (Rim), based out of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. I like to call the Waterloo region "Silicon Valley" of the north. Most people know the company name as just "Blackberry."

They were a cell phone company that changed the communication industry as we knew it. Sure, there were apple cell phones, GE cell phones, and new upcoming cell phones, ETC.

But in Blackberry's day, they were the leaders and visionaries, the elite in the cellphone communication the world over.

Anybody that was somebody had a Blackberry product.

I can see your eyes rolling back into your head, already people have forgotten or just had a short-term memory loss. Their slogan was, "Just stay in touch."

A must have device for when your commuting to work or play. Buy Amazon Kindle Reader … CLICK HERE for more information

Research in Motion (Blackberry Cell Phones) was the only communication devises working on that terrible day of 9-11

All communications where down but this one Canadian Cell phone provider. The only system still working in New York City was a Blackberry. (click here for more stories)

But having said that, we don't want to over-shady those terrible 9-11 events! But threw all fairness, this Canadian company did keep everybody that was somebody in the loop. Even all the United States Presidents and the president's men had one.

I understood you couldn't pry a Blackberry out of former President Obama's hand at the beginning of his presidential term; he depended on it so much. Rumor had it even former Donald Trump had one before homeland security removed it and gave him an American-made product.

Hell, everybody had one during the heyday of Blackberry (Research in Motion) hay-day.

But after all these years, it's now time to retire my old Blackberry friend, their gone from the industry where they once dominated.

I live in the same community as their head office and, once in a while, you hear rumbling; they'll have a new version coming out soon. I'm waiting and waiting! I started repairing my old one to keep it long enough to get that new updated one, but it’s not meant to be.

Office people have this rule; "if you haven't heard a juicy roomer by ten in the morning, start one!" That’s where I heard this roomer Rim was making a comeback.

But the reality is today few providers are handling the Blackberry communications cell phone network. That's the nail that shows me it's officially over.

I just had to retire my Blackberry with sad regret.

"My final comment on the up-day-date phone."

So I double-checked with the provider at the keas station in the local Plaza. Yeap, it's confirmed; Blackberry is gone, but don't fret any, we can slide you into a new phone with $250 off, the kid says. Of course, this is a stupid question. If you're giving me $250 off, reluctantly I asked the young fellow, how much are these state-of-the-art phones? They start at $800 and go up.

WHAT!

I near fell off the stool! I could buy a BlackBerry Passport Silver Edition 24K gold-plated with Diamond inlay for that same price! And let’s not forget with that unique touch pad look.

For you people who never owned a Blackberry, and if you had, you would also agree theirs's nothing before or since in the same category as any Blackberry (Rim) phone for the looks, style, and the security.

The changing of our times, eh!!

This story is not a sales promotion of sorts; I just liked my Blackberry Cell Phone, and I miss it already and, I'm still using it!

Part of this story comes from this (LINK) https://sixpaque.ca/blackberry/

Hope you enjoyed my rant for the day.

thanks for reading my story on Vocal Media

https://vocal.media/authors/dave-wettlaufer-hm1cgb0xtn

mobile
Like

About the Creator

Dave Wettlaufer

Canadian writer Classic Cars is my specialty. Versed in many subjects.so please CLICK this LINK to read more of my stories. To show appreciation, hit that heart ❤ button.

https://vocal.media/authors/dave-wettlaufer-hm1cgb0xtn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.