01 logo

From Pain to Purpose: Embracing Self-Recovery and Finding Happiness Again

A journey of healing and renewal; letting go, embracing positivity and rediscovering the true self.

By Kennedy WashikaPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
A shot of a young woman standing outdoors with her arms outstretched - young, free and wild.

Some memories are too painful to forget and let go. I have been holding on this pain for months. I have cried myself to sleep, my pillow understands me better. I have suppressed it and taken anti depressants to feel better. I have masked my pain in a smile when deep down I was dying.

I have come to a realization that it's only me who can salvage myself. I have decided to let go of everything and start on a new page. This year reminded me nothing is permanent. I lost almost everything that I felt so dear to me. I have walked all corners of pain and today am finding my happiness again, am finding my lost purpose. I am collecting all my broken pieces and mending them again. I am starting a journey of self recovery. I am speaking nothing but positivity to myself.

I don't understand and know the pain you going through but healing begins with you. You have to choose not to wallow in a cocoon of pain again. Life is too short to keep crying and hoping someone will come for your aid. Today choose to cut anything and anyone which ain't bringing you happiness. Cut anyone whose toxic and not merging with your energy even if it's me.

In the depths of my sorrow, I felt like life had lost its meaning. The pain that engulfed me seemed insurmountable, and I wondered if I would ever find happiness again. Each day was a struggle, and the weight on my shoulders threatened to consume me entirely. But amid the darkness, a tiny glimmer of hope persisted—a whisper that reminded me I had the power to change my narrative.

One night, as tears streamed down my cheeks, I realized that I couldn't continue living like this. It was time to break free from the chains of my past and start anew. The journey of self-recovery demanded courage, but I was determined to take the first step. I had to let go of the painful memories that held me hostage and learn to embrace my vulnerability.

With a trembling heart, I sought help and decided to speak to a therapist. Opening up about my struggles was difficult, but it proved to be the turning point. Through therapy, I learned coping mechanisms, healthy ways to process my emotions, and the importance of self-compassion. Slowly but steadily, I began to mend my broken pieces.

As I embarked on this journey of healing, I started to notice the little joys around me—the beauty of a sunset, the laughter of a friend, the warmth of a hug. These seemingly ordinary moments became my anchors, reminding me that life was still worth living.

One of the hardest lessons to learn was that not everyone who claimed to be a friend had my best interests at heart. I had to make tough choices and let go of toxic relationships that drained my energy and held me back. It was painful to distance myself from some people, but it was necessary for my growth.

In the process, I rediscovered my spirituality and connected with a higher power. Placing God at the center of my life gave me the strength and guidance to move forward with purpose. Trusting that there was a greater plan for me helped me relinquish control over things beyond my reach.

As time went by, I noticed a profound transformation within myself. The smiles I wore were genuine, and the laughter that escaped my lips came from a place of true joy. I realized that by embracing positivity and speaking words of affirmation to myself, I was gradually building a foundation of strength and self-belief.

To those who may be going through their own struggles, I offer a message of hope. Healing begins with you—it's a personal journey that requires courage and determination. Don't be afraid to seek help when you need it, and don't underestimate the power of self-love and self-care.

Remember, life is too short to dwell in pain and misery. Choose to surround yourself with people who uplift and support you. Trust that with time and effort, wounds will heal, and happiness will find its way back into your life.

Today, as I stand on the other side of my darkest moments, I can confidently say that embracing self-recovery was the best decision I ever made. The pain I once clung to has transformed into lessons of resilience and growth. I now look forward to the future with hope and excitement, knowing that my purpose awaits, and I am ready to embrace it wholeheartedly.

Above all put God at the center of your life. Allow him take the wheel and see his goodness blossoming into your life. I pray for your healing today. May you understand and align with your purpose. Adios.

how tothought leadersfact or fictionapps
Like

About the Creator

Kennedy Washika

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.