01 logo

Accounts That Made Me a Tiktok Fan

I am not in Tiktok's key demographic, but I am a huge fan thanks to these five accounts.

By Kayla BrunerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Accounts That Made Me a Tiktok Fan
Photo by Olivier Bergeron on Unsplash

I have a confession to make - I love Tiktok.

However, at 31, I am not in Tiktok's target demographic. Most of Tiktok's users are younger than me and that's okay.

32.5% of Tiktok's users are ages 10-19, while 29.5% are ages 20-29 (source)

In fact, when I first heard about Tiktok, it was from students in my high school English classroom and it seemed like an interesting fad, something that would come and go but would define the GenZ experience. An adult who grew up with myspace, livejournal and Xanga, then grew up into the Facebook era, I know the power social media had to create trends and to change people's lives.

With 100 million monthly active users, Tiktok is here to stay and when I got an account in the middle of quarantine, it was mostly just to check it out. Yet, here I am in November of 2020 still an active user and these five accounts are part of the reason why.

1. @stewiez71 - You may recognize GB (Grandma Bobbie) from many Tiktok commercials on TV today. She's also known as Tiktok's grandma, the gas money grandma and the white claw granny. The grandmother-grandson team stole the hearts of 2.9M Tiktok followers with GB's sassy, attitude-filled approach to living. I am personally enamored by their videos and the deep love between grandma and grandson. You can tell that they love each other dearly and they always bring the humor. White Claw needs to endorse these two ASAP!

2. @aymieandgracie - I'm not gonna lie to you - I have a soft spot for cute kids. Evidently, so do 2.8M Tiktok users who follow the adventures of Aymie and her beautiful daughter Gracie. Gracie is the sweetest little girl and she has a winning personality. Seriously, the kid just turned three and her charisma is off-the-charts. Their dialogues back and forth will melt even the hardest hearts, promise. I particularly love the play acted scenes that Aymie and Gracie create together and the beautiful mother-daughter bond.

3. @auggieryan - Some Tiktokers I love for their content, and some I just love because of the people they are. One such person is Auggie Ryan. Auggie is a transgender man, adoptive father and fierce advocate of his mantra "kindness only, kindness always." I admire the courage that he shows in opening up to his followers, and the fact that he hasn't cracked under the pressure of trolls and negative comments. He's emotionally vulnerable, open, and incredibly strong. His videos are a sharp reminder to be kind, allow yourself to be vulnerable and that family comes in all shapes and sizes.

4. @cargo_shorts_dad - My weakness for cute kids did me in yet again when I discovered TJ and Kylee. Kylee is six-years-old, Deaf and has a love of Target and Baby Yoda that matches mine. Seriously, the kid has some good taste. The bond between father and daughter is special and TJ and Kylee work to educate as well as entertain. You're going to find Kylee just as infectious as I do - what a personality!

5. @gglossy_z - Do you know what it's like to work in an adult store? I sure didn't until I started following this Tiktoker. Working in an adult store, Tiktoker Zarah Mariah has her share of amazing, funny and awkward stories. Her personality also shines through in these videos, making them a must watch. You really should be 18+ to follow her account, but it's definitely a unique experience. I doubt that I'll ever have the opportunity to work at an adult store, but man, the stories are amazing!

There are so many more Tiktok users out there to follow and more that I adore, but I didn't want this list to go on forever. If you're an adult who feels skeptical of Tiktok, check some of these out. Don't go blaming me if you become addicted, though. It's highly likely...

social media
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Bruner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.