01 logo

A Message

Guardian Angels in Doomsday Times

By Allison LovejoyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Angel de la Guarda Island

I fling my body onto the small beach among the jagged rocks, coughing up the salty water. Like a molting seal, I flop onto my back and fall into deep sleep. When I wake hours later, it’s as if I’m again taking my first breath. Two pairs of dark eyes search my face and motionless shape for life.

Strange whispers from the woman signal the man to turn me over and empty me of any excess fluid in my lungs. She extends her arms and presses on my shoulders, gently lifting me to sitting position.

I am awake now, squinting from the brightness. Suddenly I feel for my necklace and grasp it. Relief sets it for a moment. Then I remember that Robert is somewhere else, interned, and that I might never see him again. We were so in love when he carved the images of us inside the heart-shaped locket. We hoped to marry this year, for love, and also for citizenship. Our happy times.. before everything fell apart. Looking up at this pair of strangers, I smile at them, awkwardly saying “Thank you. My name is Joan.”

They quietly agree that I am harmless and put a scarf around my body, tying the ends. Each takes one as if it were a handle and carries me to a shaded area beneath an overhang. The man seems to have been formed from the same material as the rocks above. He offers me drops of water from a flask in the shape of a pelican’s beak. Little did I know that he collected drops from early morning dew on the cacti before they evaporate in the heat. That was his daily supply. The woman looks proudly at him, and offers me a poultice for my chest and shoulders that smells like bird guano and kelp. Her strong hands firmly press it onto my skin, and my soreness is calmed. I am now ready to sleep again, with my guardian angels here on the Island of Refuge.

Robert and I arrived at the Lukeville border crossing with our backpacks, passports, water, and a box of food. Our car was in line with hundreds waiting to get across. We had hoped to find our friends Gil and Anne and drive together, but they were already gone.

“They must already be in La Choya at their apartment.. or in La Paz”, Robert ascertained.

I had doubts as to whether they made it out at all. Their home had been burned, and they never answered their phone calls or returned our texts. “But their car was gone, Joan," he assured her. " I’m sure they made it out”.

Gunfire and screeching echoed down their street from the main strip when came for them. No one could be safe when the hungry mobs decided to attack anyone they didn’t recognize as “clean”. If you had a hidden supply of water, you might survive a week before you were found hiding. They blamed us for taking the last reserves of clean water, but the supply had been contaminated so badly that no one could drink it.

Rumors that these “vigilantes” intentionally put cyanide in the water abounded, and many considered them to be true. Scientists found traces of a rare bacteria in the Tucson supply that caused severe headaches, weakness and blackouts, followed by extreme fever and dementia. Food and water were unavailable in most the Southwest for a month. Looters would surround a building, take all the food and water, then kill everyone in the household, either by setting the house on fire with everyone tied up, or by leaving everyone starve. Many burned their own houses when leaving to spare them the trouble, knowing we would never return.

We clenched our passports, looking urgently at the Border Patrol. We hoped to see our friends and live simply by the beach for a while. My mind escaped for a moment, fantasizing about opening a coffee shop or a bar in Baja.

“Your passports!” demanded the officer.

Robert scrambled for his and handed both over to him.

The officer shook his head. “Come with me, sir.”

He startled. “Why? Is there a problem?”

“You stay here and wait to be cleared. Your passport is not good. The lady can go.”

“But we’re together!” I exclaimed.

He places his hand on his gun. “Get out of the car now, sir.”

“What?! I am calling the consulate- you can’t do this!

“I have to detain him for a while. Go now before I arrest you both.”

Robert touches my face. “I will find you..just keep going in the right direction.”

“And take all the food. You’re going to need it. Wait for me in La Paz.”

He takes a bottle of water, kisses me quickly, and jumps out of the car as if he were called on for the baseball team. “Why is he doing this?” I wonder. “I love you. Be careful!”

"I love you, too! Please don't say anything that will get you in trouble."

The officer turns quickly and sends Robert to the waiting room behind him.

That’s the last time we saw one another.

I watch and wait, screaming to them to free Robert, but the guards force me to go forward. I drive across the border, park along the roadside. and try to think of what I can do to get him out.

“We should have been married before.. but the chaos..”

After the crossing, I sat along the road with the others who also had crossed alone. I try to text my friends, but my phone doesn’t have service.

“It looks like they are closing their borders to us now. Kinda serves us right, don’t ya think?” says a man as he squeezes the last drag of his cigarette.

I sigh, and walk away towards the car. Too tired to think of what to do, I lean on my backpack and sleep.

2.

When the sun comes up, she is the only one left. Driving south through makes sense. She locks the doors and pulls her hair under her hat to disguise the fact that she is an American woman alone. She consoles herself. "When I get there, Gil will know how to deal with the law here and we can contact the consulate. Then Rober will be out." Feeling guilty, she adds, "Maybe we can help the others, too."

Joan stops in her favorite bakery in Puerto Ponasco and sees two Americans ordering coffees.

They look at her suspiciously. She smiles and says “Hi, I’m Joan. Just made it out from Tucson. How are you guys doing?”

“I”m Bob, and this is Diego. We’re fine, considering..”

She nods. “Where were you living before this?”

Diego snaps, “Phoenix. It’s a nightmare. There’s barely anything left, or anyone, for that matter. They hate us there… and the water is poison.”

“Can’t wait until we get Puerto Vallarta,” Bob takes over. “It should be safe there.”

“And where are you headed?”

“La Choya, then hopefully across the water to Hotel Sirena in La Paz.”

“I love La Paz- and the Hotel Sirena. We stay there all of the time” Diego exclaims, then stops. “What’s in La Choya?”

“Hopefully, my friends... and my--"

Joan shows them the photos inside her locket. “His name is Robert,” her voice breaking.

“Ooh, handsome,” Diego hums. “Is he French?”

Joan looks down to the floor. “Yes, but we’re getting married soon and he’ll..”

“Don’t worry, honey. They can’t keep him there forever. I heard that Europeans can get legal help to get them out sooner..”

A tall man enters and slowly looks them over.

“We have to go, nice meeting you, Joan. And good luck.” Bob turns to exit, urging Diego forward.

“Thank you. And please stay in touch.. Here’s my number” Joan hands them a card and waves.

They are already in the car, starting the engine. Diego blows a kiss to her.

Joan also leaves quickly, finishing her coffee in one gulp. She remembers the beachfront condo is about 5 miles from the center, and takes a right turn. At the gate, she punches in the code, sees Gil’s car in the port and runs towards the door with excitement. The sea looks so calm and inviting from the steps, but she knocks and announces herself to her friends.

No answer. “Maybe they are walking, or swimming… Maybe they left for a few days?”

She opens the door, and trips over a pair of sandals in the entry. The sliding door is cracked and entirely open. Food scraps and beer cans lie all over the kitchen.

“Wow, they must have one of their crazy parties”.

“It smells wrong, though, as if they hadn’t cleaned it for weeks."

Joan finds a full soda, a beer and some nuts in the midst. Starving and thirsty, she takes a gulp and begins to bite when she hears the sound of breaking glass and scrambling upstairs.

More hungry Americans have come to loot here. She grabs her bag and fills it with drinks and nuts, escapes through the balcony as voices move closer.

“Now, what?” Staring at the ocean, she sees their dock. It can be done. Just a few hours to cross, and much safer to the west. Joan places her hand on her heart-shaped locket and whispers “Robert, I know we will be together soon.”

3.

The marine biologist finds Joan asleep on the beach. A few sea lions call from the rocks.

“Hello, lady,” shaking her. “Are you alive?”

Joan starts, wondering where her guardians went. “Yes, but- where did they go?”

“Who? There is no one else here, just the fish and sea lions.”

“Then, where am I?”

“Close to La Paz. But for thousands of years this island was the home of the indigenous tribe that lived on oysters, collecting their water from the cactus that grows here. We will take you there on the boat and take you to the officials.”

Joan recalls the couple who saved her. “Was it a dream?” she mumbles to herself.

“No officials, please,” looking up. “Just the Hotel La Sirena.”

Recalling politeness suddenly, she sits up and offers her hand. “I’m Joan. Thank you for helping me. And not trying to-”. She flashes a memory of the traumatic scenes back at home.

“I'm Xavier, and my driver is Paulo. We are marine biologists. The only ones who can come to this island.” He sees her shaking in torn clothing. “You must be tired. Come here with me.”

They arrive in La Paz as the sun is setting. Xavier gives her a jacket and a hat and asks her if she needs to use the phone. She calls the reception and asks for a room. Thankfully they have her credit card on file and they reserve a room.

When she arrives, the receptionist warmly greets her and hands her a piece of paper.

“Bob and Diego send their regards from Puerto Vallarta. Please call us when you arrive and come to our wedding party next month.”

Joan smiles. “Yes! A wedding, after all of this madness.”

The receptionist adds apologetically, “I am so sorry, I just found this message now. I wasn’t here when it was taken.”

She opens the folded paper.

“Robert called you and said he will be arriving in 3-4 days. He is fine and will be very hungry and wants to get married next week. Sending all his love.”

future

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ALWritten by Allison Lovejoy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.