01 logo

3 Crucial Details to Becoming a JavaScript Developer in 2–3 Months

Instead of wasting an entire year averagely

By Arnold AbrahamPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Image made by the Author via Canva.com

You are an essential part of this equation, the resource you choose also plays a significant role.

It is undeniable that you are the one that puts effort into learning JavaScript. A couple of hours is the minimum you should bring almost every day, but you aren't the only one showing up and doing a good job. The creator of the resource you choose is just as obligated as you to bring their best.

I made a few Facebook polls with tremendous insights where I could extract three details why almost everyone needs 6-12 months and found an exciting quora answer on how to speed up the process to need 2–3 months.

1. Choose the Right Resource for You

Free resources seem perfect, but the price is hidden in plain sight.

There is a valid reason why something is free, it is only a piece of a larger set. You need to dig through the web and collect all pieces together, I thought you wanted to become a developer, not a collector.

Imagine approaching an entirely new topic, so how should you know which pieces you need to collect? When I started to learn coding in C#, I also searched for free content, and I couldn't tell what I needed and what to avoid. Nobody did filter the resources for me, and I was consuming piece after piece didn't know where I would end. This path is more confusing than the language itself. Additionally, trying to guess the importance of a puzzle piece is overwhelming.

Since I made the collecting mistake many years ago, I know about the importance of this topic. It is all about the right resource and how much the creator cares about you and your goals instead of pushing out a huge content list of topics. Hazel Jones and others stated that they'd needed only 2-3 months to become a JS developer. She even landed a job at Airbnb because of choosing the right resources (links in her quora answer).

I also created JavaScript, HTML &CSS, C#, and SQL (Youtube) video courses. I know how much you should inspect the content and how the creator cares about easy explanations and engaging delivery.

2. You Need to Commit Almost Every Day to the topic

Learning JavaScript isn't an easy task, there is much to learn.

This language provides you with a pile of many new words, concepts, and weird stuff you've probably never heard of. It is nothing you can do easily beside your daily life.

There is a reason why degrees in computer science exist. My journey to becoming a full-stack web freelancer was also long, but I had committed myself every day after finishing my daily study tasks because of the chances this skill offered me. During my studies, I came into contact with coding and spent the evenings building my projects to dig deeper and get to know as much as possible. There is much to cope with and a lot to learn. This list can only become smaller when you take your hands on it.

Learning a programming language means showing up and being consistent. Having fixed time frames during the week builds a routine, and getting used to this routine also helped me to become successful. Compared to your wage/loan, you are getting paid only when you do the work.

Although the resource you've chosen plays a significant role, you need to show up and tackle the topics thrown at you.

3. Think Heavily About Why You Want to Learn JavaScript

Some people answered my polls that they aren't confident after 10+ years of experience.

I wonder what they've done during all the years, I assume they haven't had the right reasons to start & work as a developer. You see the importance of making yourself deep thoughts about why you want to become a JavaScript developer.

Whatever the reason might be, it must serve you, no other person in your life. For me, the reason why I am still in this industry, despite all the daily shit and struggle (even after 7 years), is because I can create my empire where I rule. People listen to me and switch their plans when I say, "This is not right. We should and have to do it the opposite way." Therefore, finding your very own reason is crucial to get along with this gauntlet. Hard times will come, and learning a language is your very own choice.

Having a solid belief/reason is the fuel for these times.

A reason that matters to you is the foundation and decides how fast you can become a JavaScript developer. Maybe you've also heard the argument: "Well, I drive for 20 years, so believe me when I say.. BLA BLA BLA", my thinking about this statement is: "Yeah, you might have a license for over 20 years, but you can still drive like shit for over 20 years. That's no valid argument." To sum this up, it is about how much you care about the topic and what goal you want to achieve.

Take your time, this decision can be a life-changing one, and for me, it was (I abandoned the field I have a diploma in), and when it becomes reality, this is your new life, and only you have to live it, nobody else.

Learning JavaScript or a programming language, in general, isn't an easy topic, nor is it done in a short amount of time, you have plenty of it to do the research and find resources suiting you and your style of learning (maybe you check out mine?).

Even if you've found the right resources, it is about you to tackle them and the creator's task to keep it engaging and exciting, that's why I made an SQIsLand-Pirate Adventure to teach SQL.

Last but not least, make sure you are going on this path for the right reasons, and that only fit you and nobody else.

Don't beat around the bush and hang in there.

The lessons and examples in your last course were booooooooring? Don't you remember what you've learned nor what you've coded so far?

It is way overdue to discover the Arnold Code Academy of teaching. Take this gratis Video Course Preview of a Pirate Adventure for SQL to discover my teaching style (I also teach JavaScript, HTML &CSS & C#).

how to
Like

About the Creator

Arnold Abraham

Adventures instead of dull coding tutorials in Full Stack Web and C# Development. Diploma Engineer & Udemy Instructor: https://bit.ly/32qGFP1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.