01 logo

25 Essential App I Use Daily - 2022

These App I Use In Daily

By Pratika MooraniPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
4

25 Essential Apps I Use Daily____2022

There is no rule of thumb when it comes to which apps I use. My job is finding the best ones for me, not for anyone else. Therefore, what follows is a list of some 20-plus apps that I have used regularly since 2012, across all platforms and platforms — from tablets (Google Chrome, Android, etc.) to smartphones (Apple iPhone, iPads, Samsung Galaxy phones). This may seem overwhelming, so I break it down into two categories: productivity and social media.

1. Google Drive

Google Drive is one of the most powerful productivity applications out there. It’s easy to navigate, makes things organized, and gives you full control over your data. If anything goes wrong in this app, be sure to recover quickly, just like everything else in life.

2. Apple Mail

For work email, Apple Mail is one of the standard choices, but it doesn’t hold up after a year or two as reliable. Unless it’s absolutely necessary to have an actual person there with you, it's ok to not use Apple Mail. Plus, if any spam gets through, the user has full control over how much space they need on their device, so they can remove an entire line, or edit an attachment, without losing those emails. At least Gmail’s built-in spammers work similarly well!

3. Twitter

Tweeting has been around forever and is free anyway unless you want to pay to get private or paid accounts. So, while I didn't do much tweeting in 2018, it was still good enough for my needs for 2020. Like everyone else, I find myself constantly retweeting memes about politics and other random topics. My personal favorite is #WeAllGoThroughThis. I also use @DrewBlaine on these occasions, but not almost as frequently.

4. Evernote

I do things at home in notebooks, mainly because they're easier to follow up on, have more flexibility, and keep track of. In addition to writing down a few lines down for work today and a few for pleasure tomorrow, I also do a lot more online shopping. Not only do I organize my purchases, but I use Evernote to store them.

5. Instagram

I think it's safe to say nobody uses Instagram any way that they choose except for a select few people. But, for most folks, it’s basically an extension of themselves. It allows you to post photos — some times just pictures of yourself — and lets you tag anybody you want. It supports pretty much all forms of content editing and editing. I’ve seen people add videos to posts to show someone how they did something at the spa, or videos of a particular event or concert they attended. It allows you to follow more than 1 account, which is nice. And, most importantly, it integrates with Facebook and others.

6. Quora

I am a little biased here, but I am always happy of where I see questions asked and answered by other users. Asking questions can make your days better, especially if you feel like getting a bit more knowledge from others. Some Quora sites are so popular that they’re called “quora.com/” where you see the search function on your computer screen. Yes, it is more useful to type the question first, then looking it up on Quora than typing directly into a box in the browser. The most important question of mine I have ever gotten answered by someone on Quora? Why did I buy a new laptop? You bet it wasn’t because I was too lazy to search for answers. And, yes, I did spend some money buying more memory. Quora also offers a great service for answering questions in short bursts, such as a Q&A widget.

7. LinkedIn

Not quite as widespread as Quora, though more easily found on mobile devices. Also less than Quora. I use a dedicated LinkedIn page on my Mac, or even a separate login, and use it mostly for communicating with students or colleagues who use Microsoft Office. Also for networking purposes.

8. G Suite

I’m going to talk more about G Suite, but first let me tell you why I love it. With G Suite, I get the chance to set up a Google account in under a minute, to share a notebook on Jupyter, and set up collaboration on other G Suite things. Even if I'm not using it for the software itself, it does its part as a basic office setup.

9. Skype

I never thought anything could replace the real world until I heard a friend say that he would switch to Skype. He’d already written up what I need in his notes on his old Windows 8 PC, so there was no reason to look back. Or so I thought. Turns out, not only was Skype just a cool phone application, it was actually available through our regular Internet browsers. After signing up through Hulu for Netflix, Spotify, YouTube, Vimeo, Yahoo Messenger, YouTube, Microsoft Teams, Hangouts, and other cloud services I had to install it on my own end, but luckily someone shared the link to start using it right away. Since then I haven’t switched yet.

10. Podcasts

I’ve only recently started listening to podcast episodes I've previously listened to on my phone. However, I listen to every episode that’s shown in the feed every week. That includes music, news, sports, funny jokes, documentaries, interviews, and other interesting stuff. Most podcasts I find now either have video clips or don’t (a few exceptions).

11. Amazon Alexa Skills

If you wanted to turn your voice into a fully functional assistant on Amazon, you would need to buy a skill set. Luckily for me, there are several ready-to-use products out there. For instance, as soon as you activate this Skill Set, you can change all settings of this app, connect it to another speaker, or play songs in background mode. I have many “skills” and “devices” and it seems to take a while to adjust them all properly, so it’s fine for myself. Another cool feature is that any time you ask Alexa to remind you to order milk on my next grocery trip, she will go to the nearest supermarket to stock them for you. This is how useful Alexa really is.

12. Screencast

I watch all kinds of movies on TV, however I’ve noticed something concerning how many times I watch my favourite movie then forget about it. When I think of the word replay, what often pops into my mind is the simple phrase, ‘The second half.’ It happens to me multiple times. But, I’m currently working on improving myself when it comes to rewatching, and it appears the technology might be able to help us out. A recent research by Stanford University shows that when we watch a movie more than once, it starts to appear in our brains much faster than we would remember. We call this interference ‘second-half fatigue.’ Our ability to recall details or events more or less depends on our attention span. This can be due to an increase in blood flow, increased alertness, or maybe just sleep deprivation or poor sleep quality. So, the idea of having re-watchable movies on a movie-list for example could be helpful for someone to remember what happened for a short period before leaving movies in the library.

13. Tasks

Since late 2016, I’ve been actively setting up various types of projects with different tasks to complete. Each task is connected to a Github repository, and is divided into small stages. To keep track of how far I’ve come along and how far I’ve gone, Google Task Manager comes in handy. An example is making a list of all tasks required to finish, how long each task takes to complete, what actions I need to perform each stage, etc.

14. Slack

I’ve just started using Slack. I started doing so because it has a very wide selection of features. Everything from conversations to sharing lists. From making to-do lists to keeping track of how many tasks I’ve done, the possibilities are endless. But, the thing that makes this tool so great is how many extensions it offers. Slack is a multi-platform app, so anyone can run it on both Android and iOS. On top of that Slack, you get a lot of other tools, including Trello and Confluence.

15. Newsfeed

I’ve never quite accepted that Newsfeed has become the official reading platform of Medium. But, it does have a handful of features that allow you to read articles on paper (or on your smartphone) without worrying about the layout or formatting. One is allowing readers to highlight text to see the original source. I’m not sure how effective that is, but it’s kind of fun. Another option is automatically curating stories of your choice based on the tags and tags they belong. Personally, I prefer not to have to manually do that.

16. Tumblr

Tumblr is a website like Blogger, but for comics. Just like Medium, the comics are divided into individual articles. But unlike WordPress, Tumblr only offers single sign in features for access to the site, which means I will never be able to log in to my blog without logging up for Tumblr.

17. Stitch Fix

Stitch Fix is probably going nowhere right now, but, I love how easy to use. I use it to keep track of all my projects. Other than this, I also use Stitch Fix to organize all my sewing supplies. I

apps
4

About the Creator

Pratika Moorani

A Writer

An Engineer

A Student

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • TRENDS2 years ago

    wow

  • TRENDS2 years ago

    good

  • spreadsagar2 years ago

    Good Job Dear

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.