Writers logo

What I Need from a Writing Partner

Moving forward with new friends in 2024

By Sam H ArnoldPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
3

Last year, I went through a bad break-up. I will not name and shame, but let's just say it was terrible.

I came through it feeling used, having put all my energies into it and getting nothing in return—five years of love and commitment thrown to the curb for nothing.

We have all been there, giving our everything to someone who sees us as a status symbol rather than a partner.

I have lost my passion and my love for writing. This break-up hit me that badly.

So, Vocal, I need you to be my new partner to help me fall in love with writing again. Don't worry. I am not setting you up to fail. I have made a plan.

Flatter me

I'm not one of those people who needs constant reassurance. You don't have to flatter me every time I visit you. But I would like a little recognition for my time creating my content.

You, so far, have been brilliant at this. You make me smile when I see that top story notification; it lets me know I'm doing okay.

This year, I promise to submit more articles to different communities, and I hope you flatter me with the recognition of a few of my articles.

Let Me Explore Different Topics

My last relationship wanted me to settle down to one genre, but I have more interests than that.

With your range of communities, you offer me the chance to put my toe in several different ponds and see which I want to swim in.

I am incredibly excited to add my fiction to this year's other brilliant writers.

As a side note, I am participating in the Ray Bradbury 52, a short story every week. I can't wait to share these with you and gain feedback.

Vocal, I need you to be a supportive partner and help me grow my skills.

Introduce me to Friends

There is nothing I like better than supporting other writers on their journey. That is why I want you to introduce me to new people.

Writers that I can follow on their journey. New writers that I can build a relationship with so we can grow together.

I'm not looking for cash but friends. I want people who genuinely enjoy my writing and will drop me an encouraging comment on those long, dark winter nights when I feel like giving it all up.

If you can add a save button so I can read articles later, then I will be more than impressed. Possibly a jig around the study might ensure.

Always an Affair

Vocal, you have been part of my life for many years, and throughout them, I have always enjoyed our time together.

You might not have the biggest muscles, but you care for me in ways others could learn from.

Even though I have enjoyed you from afar, you have always been a brief fling for me. I drop in and leave. This year, I want to make our relationship serious.

Vocal will you be my platform of choice this year. To have and to hold from this day forth.

Challenge
3

About the Creator

Sam H Arnold

Writing stories to help, inspire and shock. For all my current writing projects click here - https://linktr.ee/samharnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.