Writers logo

This Year, I Won't Poison My Daughter

And other Vocal-related resolutions for 2024

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
10
This Year, I Won't Poison My Daughter
Photo by Birmingham Museums Trust on Unsplash

With the Vocal challenge deadline looming, I was immersed in my story. The only thing better than reading a fantasy tale is the feeling of writing one. The world I had created floated before my mind's eye like a virtual reality headset. I watched scenes play out, twiddled with the action, fine tuned my characters' voices. I slashed wordy passages as if repelling noisy intruders.

I propped a printout of my draft in front of me while I folded laundry. As I cooked, I contemplated word choices. I walked the dog holding the leash with one hand, jotting in my notes app with the other. In free moments I lingered at my laptop to make edits, until diverted to the next task.

And that's how I ended up giving my wheelchair-bound daughter rubbing alcohol to drink instead of water.

It was a hot day. She called to me that she was thirsty. "Coming, honey," I said while finishing up a sentence.

My thoughts still wrangling with a troublesome passage, I filled her cup, then set it on the counter while I looked for a straw. Absently I handed my daughter the cup, then turned back to my laptop.

Her choking cry yanked at my attention. Gasping and retching, my daughter held the cup out to me. One sniff told me it was not water.

Long story short, her younger sister (for some unfathomable reason) had decided to clean her new earrings in the kitchen. In a drinking cup. Which she had left half-full of rubbing alcohol, on the counter. My mind had been so distant that I failed to notice I had grabbed the wrong cup, and my daughter had been so thirsty she chugged several swallows before noticing the odd taste.

Trying to explain this story at the ER generated skeptical looks. Perhaps they would have found my fantasy tale more believable.

Thankfully, my daughter soon recovered enough to laugh at the incident with me--or perhaps at me. Another chapter in the legacy of the absent-minded mom!

But sometimes, I worry about chapters that won't end as benignly. One of my greatest fears is doing something careless, or carelessly forgetting to do something, that results in harm to another. As a teen, for example, I put off getting my driver's license because of all the terrible outcomes for which I could imagine being responsible.

That poisoned cup was a warning. The more I care about my writing, the less I take care of other responsibilities. I do love how writing takes me out of this world. But there is no escaping this-world consequences of that escapism.

So, Vocal, I make this vow: I will practice safe authorship.

- I will not write while driving.

- I will not write while minding children.

- I will not write while doing activities involving open flame or toxic chemicals.

But ... I still reserve to myself the right to be moderately irresponsible with my writing.

I might write in the bathroom, or in my car by the side of the road. I might write in the morning when I should be exercising, or into the wee hours when I should be sleeping -- or at any time when I should be doing something else mundane. And I certainly can't guarantee that I won't switch tabs on my computer at work to slip in a few paragraphs of a Vocal story, when the inspiration strikes.

My Vocal writing in 2024 will remain sporadically, giddily irrepressible. I give myself permission to succumb to the siren song of the unfinished story ... just as long as no one drowns (in rubbing alcohol).

I wish I could promise this year to respond to every comment (already blew that one -- apologies to the kind readers I've left unthanked!). If only I could resolve to submit challenge entries before the last day (obviously, already blew that one too). And it would be a dream to participate in every challenge (nope).

I'd also love to leave more love for all the amazing Vocal authors whose creations leave my jaw on the floor, my heart warmed, my mind abuzz, my spirit sparked. Every time I read a great piece without offering affirmation it feels a bit like shoplifting. I should make time to leave more comment coinage. But, again with apologies for my sticky fingers, I probably won't.

I gotta be real about how I manage my Vocal activity, this precious respite from reality, this haven for my imagination. If I start piling "shoulds" on how I use this platform, it will end up just another bullet point on my to-do list. My camel's back simply can't take many more straws.

So, Vocal, this is my final offer for 2024:

I will first do no harm. And I will create with joy.

*

P.S. As I was writing this piece, my husband came in to ask about what I had left burning on the stove. So now I have to add to my resolutions:

- I won't write while cooking ... unless I set a timer first.

VocalProcessCommunityChallenge
10

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jenifer Nim2 days ago

    This was fantastic writing. Your poor daughter, what a shock for her! I love your Vocal resolutions and I may steal some of them, although it is a long way past New Year now...how time flies.

  • Addison M4 months ago

    That was a ride of a story! Solid resolutions given the outcomes. It's like an ad for writing responsibly. Glad your kids okay and it's an interesting story now. Do not operate heavy machinery while under the influence of fantasy novels. Also, learn how to talk to your kids about the dangers of recreational Dragons. Remember where there's smoke there's fire!

  • Catherine Dorian4 months ago

    Sonia, this was such a gorgeous and honest painting of what being a writer does to the mind. It makes us absent, because we are so present with our stories. Writing is for those of us who live in Lala Land. That's what makes it beautiful. But also, it commands our attention. Our stories become our children. How do we raise them without burning our dinner? Sometimes, we can't do both, and that's the compromise we take.

  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    You win for most intriguing title! I appreciate your startling honesty here. I too lose my sense of time and space when immersed in writing, so it’s nice to know I’m not alone in that. I forget to eat or drink, which is why I’ve made my dining nook my writing space haha. That makes it slightly easier to pull myself away and refuel. But yeah, cooking or baking while writing is precarious!

  • Donna Renee4 months ago

    Oh my goodness 🤯🤣🫣🤷🏼‍♀️ I’m sure it wasn’t funny at the time but whew!!! I’m glad that things turned out okay!!

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Haha glad everything turned out ok! I’m definitely guilty of burning a batch of cookies (and a cake, and pavlovas, and oversteeping tea) while I’m writing. When it’s relatively low stakes, it’s so beautiful how immersive the act of writing can be. But yeah… when it’s your daughter, I think the stakes change! Good luck with writing safely without losing the joy of writing when you need to this year!!

  • Test4 months ago

    I'm not sure what to say. This is just... wow.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.