Writers logo

The Winners | #1

Poppy’s Prompts | January Edition

By Poppy Published 4 months ago 1 min read
31
Image Created on Midjourney

I can't believe you guys submitted 55 entries!! That's insane, but thank you so much!! I'm so honoured a huge number of you took part and so glad I got to read such incredible poems.

Sorry it took me so long to announce the winners. Deciding my three favourite from those 55 was more work than I thought it would be haha.

Here’s the link to the prompts for anyone who missed it.

I've included a list of all the entries at the end, but first, let's announce the winners.

1st Place:

This is the perfect mix of raw anger as well as the acceptance that leads to freedom. So powerfully written.

The encouraging hand on the back was a gun.

The words I clung to, poison.

Lies whispered enough become the truth and someone

Was a very good puppet master, tricking me closer to the altar

So I could be blown open and bleed for them

2nd Place:

Mesh is definitely going to be mentioned for centuries to come with names like Shakespeare and Edgar Allan Poe. Every single one of his poems is a masterpiece, with this being no exception. Words cannot describe how beautiful his writer's voice is.

Because now when you walk into a bar in your raw

denim jacket, the joke’s on them. That you knew

how to love all this time & someday, you will.

3rd Place:

Suze is another whose poems my comments will never do justice. They're just so gorgeously written and addictive to read. This one is perfect.

I try to make my peace with it. You can’t lose a lawn you never had,

but if you want it that badly it may already be lost. And after all,

dandelions grow just as well in parking lots.

The Complete List:

Thanks again to everyone who participated and made it so difficult to choose the winners! Congrats to Silver Serpent Books, Mesh Toraskar, and Suze Kay.

VocalPromptsCommunityChallenge
31

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Mesh Toraskar3 months ago

    Hi Poppy, only just saw this. I have been off Vocal for a while now, life's in the way. But will return soon. Incredibly happy to see my name in the winners list among such brilliant poets. Thank you so much, so so humbled! Congratulations to everyone! What a great challenge this was. Thanks again! <3

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! This might be a submission record for creator prompts! Well done, Poppy and everyone who entered.

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Man, this was impressive in that it was not only a creative challenge but that it brought so many writers together. Slowly reading every entry. Thank you Poppy for your gracious encouragement. ❤️

  • Tommy Ballard4 months ago

    Super cool challenge, never got around to finishing my own but enjoyed reading the great entries, congratulations to the winners!

  • Congratulations 🎈🎉

  • Rachael MacDonald4 months ago

    Congrats everyone, a fantastic challenge <3

  • Wooohooooo congratulations Silver Serpent Books, Mesh and Suze! 🎉💖🎊💖💖🎊

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Well bloody done to the winners! It was a fine and fun challenge and had time been helpful to me, I'd have put forward more entries. Well done to you too Miss Thepoet! :)

  • This was not what I expected to wake up to today but wow. I'm speechless and deeply humbled to see my name up there. Thank you for hosting this challenge! I have so thoroughly enjoyed reading everyone's poems and meeting the wider Vocal world. Seeing the community come together for challenges is always amazing. And the prompt was awesome! Can't wait to see the next challenge :)

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wonderful collection from your challenge. Looking forward to what you have in stored for us in February!

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    Ah yay!! Thank you Poppy!! This prompt was amazing and drew writing out of me on a day when I didn’t know what to write. And it drew out amazing writing from so many other people too - I loved reading poems and finding the prompt words tucked into them hahaha. So looking forward to what you’ll challenge us with next!!

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Would have been a crying shame if Mesh and Suze had been off the favorites!! Fantastic challenge, Poppy! I can’t believe there were 55 submissions!! You are so awesome. Looking forward to the next one ;D Now I gotta go thru and read the ones I missed!

  • This was an awesome prompt. I enjoyed reading so many of the great entries

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Poppy, these would be awesome in a book! Congratulations everyone :)

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Excellent! Congrats to the winners, well deserved!

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Good job, everyone! Congrats to the winners!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    This was such a fun prompt to participate in

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    🥳🥳🥳 Congrats to everyone! Very well deserved!!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Well done, everyone!

  • Xine Segalas4 months ago

    Fantastic! What a wonderful response and such great works! Well done everyone and congratulations to the winners.

  • Wow! 55 poems written for the challenge is an impressive response… great work everyone… there were so many wonderful poems & such variety. Keen for the next challenge!✅🙃

  • 👏🏾🎉👏🏾🎉 Congrats to the winners! I can't wait to read everyone's pieces, (though it should probably wait when I am more awake.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.