Writers logo

The Great Painting of the Sky

My first work from so long ago

By Sarah DanaherPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
2
The Great Painting of the Sky
Photo by Raquel Pedrotti on Unsplash

The sky was always beautiful to me. I have taken so many pictures of just the sky. It has always fascinated me to look at the sky at any time of day. The clouds float by, and the sun always shines brightly. The end of a long work day always brings the atmosphere for the last site before heading home. It is the one constant thing that keeps some sanity in my life. The soft colors vary from the time of day. It was a pretty painting that never ends right before my face. I can always enjoy it despite the time of year.

I wrote my first poem about the sky in High School. It was a pretty day with the perfect cumulus clouds. It looked like paint strokes from the Great Painter himself. The sky was that perfect blue with the brush strokes of clouds. I was very inspired that day and wrote this poem.

The Great Painting

By Sarah K Danaher

When I look up in the sky

I see a great painting before my eyes

I see the details of the paint

All about the sky in great

I see the Great Painter through it all

Throughout the clouds and blue surround

I see the beauty of the sky

Every day, by and by

When the great painter made the sky so blue

He must have thought of me and you

The words flowed from the inspiration of the sky, and I even entered it on Poetry.com at the time. I tried to remember my reads, but it was the best I could do. I truly loved it then and still love it now. It was always my first poem. I quote every so often and have always remembered it. I hold dear to my heart not being my best poem but my first. I continue to write poetry with some inspiration and some not over time. One remembers their first work.

I love taking pictures of clouds flying in a plane. I must have the window open just to stare out to watch as the clouds float by. Sometimes, they are seas of clouds or just small ones in a perfect row. One can see how small everything is from there, too. Flying through the clouds is fantastic as the plane hides in the sky. I can only imagine what my grandfather saw in WWII, flying all over the Pacific Ocean.

The sky has always inspired me no matter where I go. I can see a beautiful blue sky changing at sunset or sunrise. I even enjoy seeing the clouds touch the mountains and look stuck. It was even more impressive to see the shadows of the ground in Montana. The lightning strikes are gorgeous from a distance. The inspiration of the sky has influenced my work. So, my first poem was about what I found my first inspiration. The sky has always inspired me and is still in all my work.

Inspiration
2

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer8 months ago

    Beautiful poem😊 the sky has always been inspirational for me as well

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Lovely poem, and I agree that the sky is so inspirational. Big Sky country is certainly beautiful. Nice job with this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.