Writers logo

That girl

Aut interfice aut interficearis’

By TessaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read

I have always wanted to be that girl, the with or have as a friend. I have always wanted to be an icon. In my desperation to be a diva, an idol to other girls my age, to have everything I ever wanted, sacrifices had to be made.

I had to sacrifice the innocent that I once wore like an armor, I had to abandon the humility my mother once thought me and that which I held in high regard. I had to give up my natural beauty and embody so much pain until the world thought I was good enough.

Now I am that girl, the girl with more than 1millon subscribers on every social media account but can hardly boost of a real friend, every acquaintance becomes a competitor, in my world, it is ‘Aut interfice aut interficearis’ and as such nobody is your friend. I give the most perfect smiles when the camera is pointed at me but I doubt I know how to feel happy. I cry on my bathroom floors as the cool water from my shower comforts me.

Maybe if I was not too keen on being this girl, I will be happier. Maybe I might have not accomplished all that I have now but I will be with people who smile and give me a pat on the back at my most basic achievement. Maybe I’ll be have cute little children and their mare existence will be a source of my never ending happiness and a partner who lives to make me happy.

I laugh at myself as I stand from the bathroom floor staring at the mirror, looking at my naked body and how much I have modified my appearance for the world. There’s no going back for me, there’s no simple life, there’s no loving husband or super amazing children. All I have now is a world that would be the end of me, probably driving me crazy first.

I walk out of the bathroom pick up the dinner dress selected my agency and prepare to go for dinner with a business tycoon.

CommunityWriter's BlockPublishingPromptsLife

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great! I want to know more about this business tycoon! Great work!

TWritten by Tessa

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.