Writers logo

Sisters & Love

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Like
Sisters & Love
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Growing up was not easy. Things happened and life changes the outcome. I was young . And I was smart. And I was college bound. Momma always said that I would be something. That I would be somebody. I love Momma. Momma was a hard worker. Olivia Newark did not stop at I love you with her children. She would work day and night to provide. And I say that because Momma had an older child named Cicelia. Cicelia was strong willed and just like Momma when she was young. She would love imitating Momma. And she got so good at it that she thought she was Momma, that's what Momma said. Cicelia was a loving child and very cute. She won a pageant when she was just six years old. And Momma said I look like her. Momma said Cicelia got to grown and to talkative when she was maturing. And Momma sought her away and sign her up to the military. I'm Cissy. I never tried Momma like that. I always obeyed because Momma was like my hero. She was the most important person in my life. Especially since I did not know my father. He left us after I was born. Momma said father just bail out on us and walk away. So Momma was my mother, she was my best friend and she was my hero. I love hearing Momma's stories about work and doing the right thing. Momma would get so much into her stories that she would act out the parts. And I would be thrill as a child and she made me laugh as a young woman. Momma made me feel at home. Ever so often Cicelia would write from the military but Momma would not read the letters. Momma would ask me to read and tell her the jest. Momma wanted to know if she was okay and doing good. So I would read the letters and report back to Momma. Momma would look worried and fret but be relieved when she hear that my older sister was okay.

Then my studies, I wanted to be a writer. You know why. Writers rule. They rule the world like Shakespeare, Hughes, Morrison, and Angelou. I always admired English class. I do love history and I do love science. Math is interesting. Gym I can't stand. English is my favorite subject. Just think you can change the world with one essay, with one book, or with one poem. And though writing is a hard discipline. It carries the weight, the prestige, and the honor. I was fixed on a writing career. And Momma knew it. She said I had my head in the books and that I was a book worm. And she was right. I wanted to go to the best colleges maybe Harvard, Spelman, or Yale. Momma tried to get me to lessen my dream because she was a single parent and times were tough. I made an agreement with Momma that if I can earn high grades and get scholarships then I would transfer to a good college. Momma agreed and shouted. She exclaimed that I was sure enough smart sure enough brains. And in my final years of high school, I invited my sister to my graduation. I remember reading her last letter, she said she met a man and was getting married because she was pregnant. I wanted to see her immediately because I met someone too. Guy Ackins was the finest football player and some say he knew karate and was a three time blackbelt and he had an eight pack. I remember seeing him in a t-shirt. But Cicelia didn't come, and Momma was there with my friends and Guy. I was both happy and sad. And out of anger, I told on my older sister. I apologized to Momma and said that Cicelia is pregnant and getting married from her last letter. And Momma shrugged off and exclaimed that we should be happy for you now. Cicelia has her own life and she has to learned the lessons she need to learn. When I was in college and Guy and me were official but not kicking it. I was just in my first studies and I got the call, Momma was sick. So I finished the semester in school and taking care of Momma. Numerous of times I tried to call my sister and write but no response. Momma wanted me to continue going to school while a nurse helped her out. And I was struggling, months later I received a letter from my sister with a check. She wrote to help take care of Momma's expenses. I told Momma and she was still concerned. Eventually I finished community college and Guy and me were engaged. Momma was getting better. After my graduation, she saw my degree. And days later died. I was devastated. My best friend died. My hero died. So I prepared Momma's Funeral and I kept writing to my sister all along the way. I invited her to the funeral. It's been days and so I gather family together. The funeral was almost over and during my speech. I hear my name "Cissy Cissy Sister You're my sister. You're my sister and I love you,"- sung Cicelia while crying and entering the funeral home. And I stop and gave the podium to my older sister. She told everything Momma meant to her and she brought her husband and daughters. And I told everyone that Momma was proud of her and that this was my big older sister and her family.

Inspiration
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.