Writers logo

Send me a photo!

Calling ALL writers with a camera!

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
35
Yes, I took this at the Denver Gem Show a few months ago. It looked cool, but damned if it ain't amateur, lol.

Merry Christmas, everyone! How are you all doing? (Yes, I do want to know the answer to that, so please tell me in the comments. 😊)

I thought I’d write something since it’s been a little bit. Not a super long time, but long enough, and I’m excited about what I’m about to announce. No, it’s probably not what you’re thinking… I haven’t published a book or launched a complete blog or anything. But I hope you’re still reading when I say…

…I want to run another unofficial challenge!

After the incredible success and huge fun of my Grocery List challenge back in November, I had an idea. What if I we all used each other’s work to inspire MORE writing?

Let me explain!

Because I love ekphrastic writing, I thought, What if we provided art for others to write about? Specifically, photographs. Not paintings or drawings or music or anything else; just photography. I do really like the potential for another ekphrastic challenge using other media forms, though…

This will entail two parts. Part 1 will be required for Part 2, but only the writing will be judged.

So, for Part 1 of my new challenge, please send me a photograph!

I’d like this photo to be taken by you and to be something you’re proud of. Naturally, it has to also be a photograph that you wouldn't mind someone writing a poem or story about. Only 1 photo per person, too!

I ask that if you aren’t planning to write anything for this challenge, please refrain from submitting a photo. I want everyone’s photo to be used, which means the same people who submitted to Part 1 should also submit to Part 2. Otherwise, we will have a discrepancy. (That goes in reverse too. You can’t write for the challenge unless you’ve submitted a photo. This is logical. It’s not just me being a hard-ass, I swear. Stay tuned for Part 2!)

"But," I hear you ask, "how do we send you a photo? Vocal's comment system doesn't allow uploaded content." Aaaaand, right you are. I thought about this for a while, vacillating between a few different options, but ultimately decided on the following:

I made a Google Doc for everyone to add to. Anyone with the link can edit the document and upload their chosen photograph. Instructions are included on the document too! (Link is at the bottom of the article.)

Now, if this becomes a problem, I do have a backup plan. Make sure you're subscribed in case I need to enact it. silly

So, to recap, please click the Google Doc link at the end of this article to upload your chosen photo. It can be of anything, just make sure...

  1. you took it,
  2. you’re proud of it,
  3. and you don’t mind someone else writing a story or poem based on it.

The deadline is Sunday January 7th, 2024 at 11:59 MST.

Mark it on your calendar!

With the holidays, this gives more people time to see this article and participate if they want to. 13 full days is pretty good! So, by January 7th, be certain that the photo you uploaded to the doc is the photo you’re happiest with. And no, I will not be judging the photographs, only the writing that comes from them.

Once I have all the photos, I will publish the article for Part 2 and explain the final steps for the challenge. You will not want to miss that!

Now for the most important question. Will there be a cash prize?

This time? YES.

I'll explain the details in Part 2, but multiple people will be getting prizes. Yay! I am very excited about this one, guys!

Any questions or concerns? Leave them in the comments for me!

Cheers, everyone!

Here is the link for the photo submissions.

InspirationCommunityChallenge
35

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie Ginger4 months ago

    Too late for this one Mackenzie but next time. A very interesting challenge.

  • Rebekah Conard4 months ago

    Just having a lazy Sunday, sitting around, watching YouTube videos... "Am I forgetting anything? ... wait, WHAT DAY IS IT?" I remembered to submit a photo. Lol

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    Just added mine. We live in an old decommishioned Catholic church in Hull, MA (near Boston).

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    This is right up my alley as I express myself through many ArTisTik fOrMs. Hmm. How long does the description about the photo need to be? I may not make the deadline this time, however, I really hope you will make this a regular challenge in the months ahead! Cool idea:)

  • I thought I had commented that this is an excellent idea & I'm keen to take part! Some my comments elsewhere have been disappearing.

  • This is a really awesome and unique idea! I love that you’re organizing this. It’s such a fantastic way to draw inspiration for a story. Excellent idea!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Hey Mackenzie!!! I am doing well, I love the idea and how well thought out this challenge is!! I will have to think of a photo to enter for this and create an email address as the one I use for Vocal would expose my real name... 😅 But I love this and think it is sooo fun!!

  • Harbor Benassa5 months ago

    What an awesome prompt! I went ahead and submitted.

  • Teresa Renton5 months ago

    Hope everyone’a had a lovely festive season. Well done for great idea! I’d love to join in but can’t commit. Distressing family stuff going on and head’s a mess, but if I get a chance, who knows.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Excellent! I'm intrigued and added a photo!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Is it just me or has mine been deleted?

  • Test5 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Diana Penn5 months ago

    Hi. I’m new - and I absolutely LOVE this idea! I may do this on my own with one of my photos, or artworks. I’ve been wondering how to get inspired to write - and this is exactly what I needed! Thank you so much!!

  • Natalie Wilkinson5 months ago

    Phew, I think I did it- from my phone, my internet is out until tomorrow.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Ooohh. This is fascinating. Can we submit photos that we ourselves have previously written about? Also, will you be assigning photos to creators? Forgive me if you've already answered. I'm to lazy to look right now.

  • Michael Butorovich5 months ago

    Your photo is actually really good! It's like a frame within a frame and the perspective of what I believe is the Denver Stockyard Saloon with the construction next to it outside the door is centered well. It would look bland if it wasn't for the composition of the clouds and that is actually the most ideal light for that angle was well. Either way, you have a nice vision :)

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    First, to answer your question: I am just recovering from a Vocal slump, so your challenge was timely for me. Second, I've added one of my 5,000+ photos for Step 1. Looking forward to seeing where this goes. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    I love new things. Will start going through my snaps.

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    This is a great idea. I’ve submitted a photo. Step 1 complete 👍

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    congrats on Top Story for your awesome challenge.

  • Excellent idea , and I have loads

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    We have a lot of photos...but I'm trying to think if I have any pictures of something I'm proud of lol. Dammit, Mackenzie. As you know I was doing nothing different other thanwatching Dr Who yesterday, so it's been a peaceful time while everyone else celebrates lol. Hope you are doing alright. Just also wanna say, I am definitely going to submit, if only because it means I get to write...I love ekphrastic writing too and this is a perfect challenge for you to run because some of your best work is that kind. I suppose I could just take a picture of me with my book and submit that to be a proper egotistical bastard and also use this as a free marketing strategy lol. I'll definitely think of something better than that hahahaha! Thank you for the exciting prompt...your enthusiasm was smacking me in the face!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    How in the name of jesus am I going to choose ONE photo as a writing prompt!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.