Writers logo

Opening the Door to 2024

Let's make it count.

By Dana CrandellPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
13
Opening the Door to 2024
Photo by Jan Tinneberg on Unsplash

Can you feel it? Can you hear it knocking? A new year is testing the latch and looking for gaps in the weatherstripping. In a few hours' time, we'll open that door and let it in, each at our own specific time and in our own way. Well, those of us who live on Earth, use the Gregorian calendar, and consider the beginning of the year to be January 1.

A host of various traditions are about to be followed. Tomorrow morning, some won't remember everything that's going to transpire tonight, thanks to some of those traditions. Some will remember it, all or in part, and may or may not have regrets. I've been one of those people many times in the past, but he won't be here this year.

Don't get me wrong; those of you who will "cut loose" tonight have my full support and my sincere wishes for a good time. I haven't forgotten how to have one. I also sincerely hope you stay safe.

Tonight, Pam and I will enjoy the evening quietly, at home, reclined on the love seat. No party favors. No booze. Maybe a good movie or two. Maybe we'll watch the ball drop. Maybe we'll fall asleep and wake up in 2024. Tomorrow evening, we'll have a simple, informal dinner (spelled "p-i-z-z-a") with friends who are family.

Why the low-key celebration? No particular reason. We haven't sworn off alcohol or parties. We just want to relax, be grateful for what 2023 has brought us and get ready to follow through with our plans for the New Year. And the plans are big ones.

First and foremost, in terms of importance, is the move. "Goodbye, Texas. Hello again, Wyoming." I've written enough about that so I don't feel the need to explain it, but I think you'll be able to read more about it before and as it happens and I assure you, there will be plenty to write about once we're back there.

Meanwhile, I need to publish at least three titles and that's at the top of my "resolution" list. Thanks to the amazing community of writers I've been hanging out with this year, it's finally going to happen.

I've helped other authors complete and publish their books. I've been published in several magazines and written a library of content that's put a lot of money in other people's pockets. It's time for me to put my own work out there, tangibly, with my own name on it, and see what comes next.

I have no grand illusions. Just getting it done will be enough. It's the next logical step on the journey to wherever I'm going. It's also the motivation for more stories and poems to fill those publications and any more that might come.

So, I'll be here in 2024. I've tested the waters. I'm finally doing what I should be doing. I've found encouragement and support. I've had the opportunity to encourage and support amazing creators. I've made some good friends. And I've published more stories on Vocal than I ever expected to when I came back this year.

I've said it many times this year, but I can't put 2023 to bed without saying, again, that I'm on this path because of an incredible group of creators and supporters on this platform. There are too many names to link if I'm going to publish this today, but those names will come up in my work next year. Any writing accomplishments to come will have a little of each of you embedded. Thank you all.

So, my friends, fellow creators, and any foes who may be reading this, please enjoy your celebrations and please, keep creating. I've come to realize that what we create can make a difference. Let's change the world in 2024.

***

Thanks, as always, for reading my ramblings!

InspirationVocalCommunity
13

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Cheers to 2024!!! Loved your story!!!

  • For the better, of course. (Words can be used conversely.) Best wishes for 2024, for your move & the opportunity to be closer to Pam's family. Wyoming's beautiful.

  • Test4 months ago

    I did much the same. But with wine. This was such a lovely piece to wake up to on New's Years day morning. There is so much to be grateful for and taking the time for that is important. I feel very similarly to you in what I feel Vocal has given me and you articulate it so much better than I ever could. Looking forward to your publications and know that your talent will shine no matter what you choose to write! Good luck with the move! And a heartfelt, happy new year to you 🤍

  • Now that is my kinda celebration! I don't drink and I loveeeeeeeeee pizza! Hope you guys had a great time! And awww, so nice of you to wish your foes well. I'm not like that though 🤣🤣🤣

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Your evening sounds lovely! “Tomorrow morning, some won't remember everything that's going to transpire tonight” lol that’s very true for some but not me! I’m with you on just staying in. I chose to relax and paint by the fireplace! Happy New Year Dana! 🥂

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    There's so much pressure to have fun on new year's, it's my least favourite night to go out/drink/party 😅 think you have the right of it. I'm tucked up in a oodie right now, under a blanket with my dog, watching The Two Towers. Perfect 👌

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wonderful. Glad you hear you're going to work on getting published. I'm sure you'll do great. You're brilliant. Wishing a fabulous, relaxing new year to you and Pam.

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Let all your plans come true and the move be smooth and easy, Dana! Happy New Year!

  • Harbor Benassa4 months ago

    Happy new year! I agree that Vocal has provided a great encouragement to expand our written portfolios. Best of luck!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Now I'm intrigued about the foes...

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Happy New Year, Dana and Pam!

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Happy New Year, dear friend—to you and your beautiful Pam! Sounds like an amazing way to welcome the new year! We will also be spending ours cozy in our home–playing with our kids, eating yummy food and watching movies. So grateful to have been blessed by your writing and your friendship in 2023, and very excited to be an owner of a Dana Crandell published work in 2024! Beautiful things ahead! I truly appreciate you! Sending love to you both! H A P P Y N E W Y E A R! ✨💞✨💞✨💞✨💞✨💞✨💞

  • Andrei Z.4 months ago

    Happy New Year and all the best wishes, Dana! Let's wait and see what 2024 brings to our doors!

  • K. Kocheryan4 months ago

    Happy New Year! I hope 2024 brings in peace, joyful moments, and creative opportunities for you!

  • Test4 months ago

    Wishing you and Pam a peaceful and joyous transition into the new year, filled with accomplishment, creativity, and fulfillment. Here's to a successful 2024 filled with exciting adventures and achievements!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.