Writers logo

MY MUSIC LIFE SO FAR

Harmonizing the Chapters of My Melodic Journey

By Ella AnnaPublished 8 months ago 2 min read

While growing up, I grew up with music, I mean I knew most naija hits at 4 years old coupled with the fact that my mum could sing and she had a beautiful voice which she used to praise God. She channeled her voice or singing if I'm to say, to the gospel aspect and i watched her and joined her as i grew up. I would say that she was the reason why I had knowledge about music. She made me so attached to singing that I sing every moment of my time, while bathing, doing house chores and even eating.

Luckily for me, I was blessed with a beautiful voice just like my mum. I became a fan of any good music. So this all happened while I was still in primary school and I had joined our church choir by then which my mum was also part of. I always followed her to choir practice and kept doing that regularly even till I joined secondary school.

My first secondary school was a boarding school which meant that I had to leave the choir for sometime, i could only go during midterm breaks or holidays. But before then, I could already read solfa notations by myself if I was given a key. At that time I had my own personal singing file which consists of every copy of each song we learnt, my mum had hers too and we would always review songs we were taught newly each time we go home after choir practice. Then, I was an alto singer like my mum.

In secondary school, I didn't hesitate to join the school choir, but as a new student to the boarding school life and everything, I wasn't finding it easy at all so I had to quit. I couldn't continue there for some reasons so i had to stay at home for a term and register in a new school in my state, well i think there was a reason for what happened cos my new school was where i could release my potentials but before i went to my new school, i used my free term to help my mum at home and attend choir practices. Ooh….I forgot to add that my immediate younger sister also joined the train. We then became three that pursued music in my family. So back to the new school I was enrolled in which was located in Owerri, Imo state. It is a catholic school named Madonna Model Secondary School. And the fact that it is a catholic school, made it easier for me as i am a catholic. It was so interesting and fun, I dedicated myself to the choir activities which were all interesting and I was so excited each time we were called for choir practice.

It got better along the line, I was able to shuffle between school work and choir activities and it was a school controlled by rev sisters so we were always taking choir seriously. I later became known after I joined the boarding house because I was a day student from JSS2 till JSS3, then i joined the boarding house in my SS1 in the same school. That was where the real journey began……

Writing ExerciseVocalInspiration

About the Creator

Ella Anna

Imaginative architect, crafting wonders with words, where each sentence is a journey, every book an adventure. Join me in the dance of ink and inspiration; let's create worlds that linger in the heart and echo in the soul. #WriterLife 📚✨

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ella AnnaWritten by Ella Anna

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.