Writers logo

My First Story

Writers Challenge

By Mother CombsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
My First Story
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The first story I ever wrote that I didn’t write for a school project was a piece I wrote about my older brother teaching me how to write my name. I wrote this story for a contest a local publisher was running. I wrote the story to be a children’s book.

Twenty-seven years ago in 1996, I was invited to join a local contest. The prompt for the competition was to write a children’s book about an incident in our childhood. So I wrote about how my brothers would not play with me until I had learned how to do a little lesson they gave me, then they would color, play tag, or watch TV with me once I did. I didn’t feel I did well but I never felt my writing was the best. The publisher wanted to offer me creative writing lessons and the right to publish my book. Sadly, since I lacked self-esteem, I backed out of the contest.

Writing the story brought back many memories of my childhood with my older brothers, some joyful memories. I used to have the best big brothers before they grew up. It brought back that feeling of closeness we used to have.

My writing style has changed a lot since then. I’m no longer worried about writing about something new and letting people read my work. I know I may not be the best, but that’s okay since I write for entertainment and anyone who enjoys reading my work. I also have found that whereas before I hated poetry, I now love writing poetry.

I’m not as innocent as twenty-seven years ago, but that’s okay. My writing now has a maturity that I didn’t have before. This maturity in itself is excellent. It gives my writing a whole different depth than it had back then.

I’m glad I grew as a writer. It shows I’ve lived and learned.

LifeChallenge

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    I'm so happy you are much more confidence with your writing now! I'm also glad you enjoy writing poetry because I love reading them!

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.