Writers logo

My First Foray into Publishing Short Stories Online

Sometimes passions can stay dormant for a while then spring back to life when you least expect it

By Leslie WritesPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
14
My First Foray into Publishing Short Stories Online
Photo by Chetan Kolte on Unsplash

First let me admit that I have a terrible memory. Because of my anxiety, my mind loves to focus on awkward and painful memories. The failures instead of the triumphs. How far back should I go? My elementary school scribbles were just glorified spelling and penmanship exercises. I mostly remember the short stories and essays I wrote for my advanced placement English class in the eleventh grade.

I was in the AP class because a lot of my friends were. I wanted a piece of the action. I considered myself a competent writer. That is, until I met Mrs. B. She was a hard ass. She would scrawl the word ‘trite’ in red pen across your precious story if she thought you could find a more creative metaphor. In fact, ‘trite’ was one of the vocabulary words I learned from her.

I was a slow reader. Not slow in the sense that I had difficulty reading the words, but my mind tends to wander while I’m doing it. Sometimes I get to the bottom of the page, and I realize that I didn’t take anything in. I’d have to start again at the top. I persevered through a few classics on Mrs. B’s reading list including The Handmaid’s Tale, The Catcher in the Rye, The Bell Jar, and 1984. All this sophisticated banned book reading gave me a sense of pride and made my writing less provincial (another Mrs. B vocabulary word).

We learned how to craft a proper thesis, tackle different styles, engage the reader from the first sentence, then pique their interest at the climax and provide a satisfying resolution - or not if you’re nasty 😉

Once I learned what good writing was, I felt inadequate, but somehow writing was still fun. That was a new feeling. Usually if I am ‘bad’ at something I pretend it doesn’t exist. I once had to withdraw from a piano class in college. It was the only way to stop myself from destroying the instrument with my bare hands or bad vibes so hot it might’ve spontaneously combusted.

Writing is not like that for me. I can play. I can write something dumb and still own it. It’s not math. There is no right answer.

I didn’t keep any of the stories I wrote in Mrs. B’s class, and I decided to coast through regular English for my senior year, but her crash course in quality writing gave me the skills I still use today. I wrote stand-up comedy for a few years and tried my hand at fan fiction. From there I began to explore short stories.

I found a challenge online with a top prize of $250. The prompt was that the story must end with the characters admiring the sun. I told my friend about it, and she asked me if I knew about Vocal’s Doomsday Diary Challenge with an exponentially higher prize. It felt like serendipity because the story I had written was already very dystopian. I only needed to include a heart shaped locket.

I must have revised my story a thousand times. I picked and pruned it weeks before the deadline. My closest friends beta read it. Winning the money was a long shot, but I had already won in a sense, because it had renewed my passion for storytelling.

InspirationProcessLife
14

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert8 months ago

    Wow. I can't even begin to say how strongly I relate to this. From the first sentence to the last. Like this. is. ME! To a T! I feel like we had very much the same journey and for the same reasons. Only difference is that I never say I have a bad memory. It's an elephant's memory. Everyone says so. But it's like yours. Hyper focused on those uncomfortable moments that still haunt me. I just really loved reading this. I could have very well been writing it. Thank you for sharing. :)

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I love this so much. I feel like having a Mrs. B was the best thing, though probably annoying at the time. 😅

  • Harmony Kent8 months ago

    Wonderful piece and expressed beautifully. A lovely story, and so great that you persevered and re found your passion for writing, Leslie 💕🙂

  • Hey, we both came here because of that 20-grand jackpot. Wonder how many other authors came to Vocal for that challenge as well, and, by extension, how many walked away without a dime, lol

  • I loved the idea of there being no right answer to writing I’m going to keep that one to add to my mantras. I also suffer from getting to the bottom of the page and realizing I hadn’t taken anything in, my mind wanders too lol. Great story enjoyed it so much thank you for writing it

  • I'm so grateful to Mrs. B, Vocal and your friends! Reading this gave me so much joy!

  • Ahna Lewis8 months ago

    I can definitely relate to a renewed my passion for story-telling through online publishing. Sometimes I just need a writing goal to work towards! Thanks for sharing this piece Leslie!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    We all need that hardass in our lives!

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    fascinating! Article

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Cool entry, Leslie. I saw a few similarities to the way we read; I also sometimes have to go back to the beginning of a paragraph because my mind wandered, lol. And at first, I didn't like Mrs. B, but by the end, she grew on me. Thanks for sharing!

  • Great Article 🏆😉❤️📝💯👌 Yes, Talk about it❗❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.