Writers logo

Merry Christmas

Joining Daphsam’s Christmas Festive (Unofficial) Challenge

By 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
6
Merry Christmas
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

I hope you will all consider engaging in this little prompt to answer the ten questions below and post them on your page. I look forward to reading your answers.

This prompt was provided by Daphsam. You can explore her answers and more at the link below:

1. If you could invite any fictional character to your Christmas party, who would it be and why?

Oh, this a fascinating exercise. There are so many great options: Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, Gandalf . . . but acting selfishly, I would favor “The Genie” from Aladdin, and his three accompanying wishes! As an added bonus, he would undoubtedly be the life of any Christmas party!

2. What are your favorite Christmas desserts and why?

Hmmmm . . . I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but I do love gooseberry pie.

3. What are your favorite top 5 Christmas songs?

“I heard the Bells on Christmas Day” – Casting Crowns

This was originally penned as a heartfelt poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow as the American Civil War waged on and Longfellow himself faced great personal tragedy. It gives me chills every time I hear it.

“And in despair I bowed my head – ‘There is no peace on earth,’ I said – ‘For hate is strong, And mocks the song – Of peace on earth, good-will to men!’ – Then pealed the bells more loud and deep – God is not dead, nor doth He sleep – The Wrong shall fail, The Right prevail – With peace on earth, good-will to men.”

“The Wexford Carol” – Yo-Yo Ma and Alison Krauss

“Good people all, this Christmas time – Consider well and bear in mind – What our good God for us has done – In sending his beloved son!”

“It Came Upon a Midnight Clear” — Julie Andrews

This 1849 poem was written by Pastor Edmund Sears and turned into a Christmas Carol that same year by Richard Storrs Willis.

“But with the woes of sin and strife ~ The world has suffered long ~ Beneath the angel-strain have rolled ~ Two thousand years of wrong ~ And man, at war with man, hears not ~ The love-song which they bring ~ Oh hush the noise, ye men of strife, ~ And hear the angels sing!”

”In the Bleak Midwinter” — Choral

This was originally a poem written by the English poet Christina Rossetti, published in 1872 under the title “A Christmas Carol”.

“Our God, heaven cannot hold Him – Nor earth sustain, – Heaven and earth shall flee away – When He comes to reign: In the bleak mid-winter – A stable-place sufficed – The Lord God Almighty – Jesus Christ.”

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel – Enya

An ancient Latin hymn which has evovled over the centuries.

“O come, O come, Emmanuel, And ransom captive Israel – That mourns in lonely exile here, Until the Son of God appear. Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel, Shall come to thee, O Israel.”

(And a couple more, because I love Christmas music so much)

“Grown Up Christmas List” — Michael Bublé

“Do you remember me? I sat upon your knee, I wrote to you With childhood fantasies. – Well, I’m all grown-up now, Can you still help somehow? I’m not a child – But my heart still can dream.”

“Fairytale of New York” – The Pogues (featuring Kirsty MacColl)

The tone of this song differs from the others on my list, but it is filled with incredibly raw emotion.

4. What is your Christmas decorating style and why? (Rustic, Whimsical, Modern, Minimalist, Monochromatic)

I suppose I would have to go with minimalist these days. I seldom have guests at my bachelor pad, so I no longer do much Christmas decorating, save erecting a tree and hanging a few strings of lights. (The kids and I opted instead for a “Festivus Pole” a couple of years back – talk about minimalist!) When the kids were younger, I usually decorated with more of a whimsical theme.

5. What is your favorite Christmas movie, and why?

“It’s a Wonderful Life” has long been a very favorite for me. It is such a beautiful story. I also love “Family Man” which has a similar storyline.

By Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

6. Write a haiku for this picture.

Loneliness disguised

By Christmas decorations

Wintertime despair

By Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

7. Write a funny caption for this photo.

“If you post this on social media, we’ll crap on your rug!”

8. What is your favorite Christmas book or child’s Christmas story?

Favorite Christmas book, “A Christmas Carol”, by Charles Dickens. Favorite child’s Christmas story, “The Gift of the Magi”, by O. Henry.

9. What is your favorite Christmas quote?

“For it is good to be children sometimes, and never better than at Christmas, when its mighty Founder was a child Himself.” — Charles Dickens (A Christmas Carol)

10. What does Christmas mean to you?

Christmas means “love” and “family”. It means setting our priorities right, even if only for this one day a year, by putting everything else aside to devote our time and hearts to the ones we love the most.

PromptsWriting ExerciseVocalLifeCommunityChallenge
6

About the Creator

𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧

˜”*°•.˜”*°• Time is our most valuable asset. Thank you for spending some of your time with me! •°*”˜.•°*”˜

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Thank you RM! Your answers are absolutely wonderful and we have a lot of similarities. I also loved. “It’s a wonderful life” with Jimmy Stewart. an absolute classic. As well as James Bond - Daniel Craig she definitely be invited to my Christmas party. Love to see Ted Lasso deal chit chat! And your comment about the dogs posting that picture on social media or the crap on the rug is just hilarious! Thank you so much for joining my first unofficial, vocal challenge! 

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    I love the doggie crap idea. Great Haiku, overall this is really well put together.

  • Oooo, the Genie, huh. We can't wish for more wishes, can't make someone fall in love with us and can't wish for someone to be back from the dead. So I can wish for someone to be dead. Hehehehehe! But I digress. Loved your Haiku, funny caption and your favourite quote!

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    I love this prompt and your answers were hilarious! 😆 🩵 Merry Christmas RM!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.