Writers logo

Loneliness, My Lover

A short prose

By NushPublished 7 months ago 1 min read

My lover is loneliness. He loves me like no other. He whispers to me every second, “You can fear death but don’t fear me, for I will not leave you.”

He smiles and is never angry. He smells like weeks-old sheets because I sleep with him too long. When I try to walk away, he taps on my shoulder. I turn around. His empty gaze penetrates me.

“Why do you leave?” He asks. “My musty breath, my hard hands, and my ice embrace await you. I exist for you”, he says. I take his hands and put them on my cheeks. I wish that his hard hands would thaw at my warmth. He cries and begs me to love him.

“Embrace me,” he says, “Let me mark your body black and blue. Let me hide you away from the world. Let me wrap my fingers around your neck. Let me consume you inch by inch, atom by atom.” I look at his pitiful eyes and shed a tear. I nod my head, and I tell him, “I can never say no to you”.

Writing ExerciseLife

About the Creator

Nush

Writing has always been a huge passion of mine. However, I stopped writing in the past few years because so many changes happened in my life. Since I'm in college now, life is finally a bit peaceful and I'm so happy to be writing again.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NushWritten by Nush

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.