Writers logo

Just Checkin' In

A Little Break in the Break

By Dana CrandellPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
18
Just Checkin' In
Photo by DJ Johnson on Unsplash

Hey, all you wonderful Vocal creators! I'm just stickin' my nose in here for a minute to say, “Wassup?” It's been 12 days since I published anything here and I need to remedy that. More importantly, there are a whole lot of comments I need to answer and there's a ton of new stuff from my friends to read. I'll be getting started on that today and I'm really looking forward to it.

In case you're one of the few people that might have actually wondered, I've been on a bit of a “Vocal Vacation” to work on my books and investigate a few things. One of those investigations turned up something rewarding in more ways than one.

Over the past several days, I've completed two of the most fun and challenging writing projects I've had in a while. One, writing about an element of poetry and the other, writing poetry. And I was paid well for both. I also received a 5 out of 5-star rating for both and outrageously positive feedback from the clients. Bonus: I've already received an invitation to bid on another project. Ratings and feedback on the platform have a lot to do with that.

So, work on the books was interrupted for a bit, but I get to pay some bills and keep the lights and heat on, which is always nice - at least the last part. Not only that, but there's something pretty cool about immediately landing jobs on the freelancing platforms after being idle for ages. And it was creative writing. At my proposed price. So, please, pardon me if I'm a little stoked.

One more fun fact: It was my Vocal publications that convinced the prospective clients I was the writer they wanted. It's nice to have a portfolio handy, no?

Now, there are a couple of caveats: The freelancing platform takes a little cut, and there's a 5-day waiting period while they verify the funds deposited by the client. On the other hand:

I pay Vocal a monthly fee, in exchange for a few perks, Stripe gets a cut, and:

I wait an unspecified number of days for Vocal to release a withdrawal (My last is currently at 10 and counting.) while they make sure I'm not gaming the system.

So it comes down to caveats all around. And in that way, this little hiatus has helped me come to terms with Vocal again. That last item on the list doesn't grate on me any less, but I'm making adjustments. My perspective is a little different today. We'll see if an old dog can be taught.

Mostly, I'm just nowhere near ready to leave this community. I may have mentioned that a time or two. I'll probably mention it again. Without any apologies.

So, you're stuck with me for now, peeps. I'll be here, but probably ranting less. I'm not likely to stop completely, because I'm a grumpy, opinionated old fart with some old-fashioned ideas about business and responsibility and other trivial things. And my joints hurt. And I don't get enough sleep. And...

There will be more gaps in my publishing while life and other projects get in the way, but I'm a die-hard Vocalite and that's a fact. I'm gonna' be reading your work and supporting you. Liking, commenting and all that. And hey, if you don't see me around, feel free to check on me. It's always nice to know someone noticed. I'll do the same.

***

As always, thanks for taking time out of your day to read my ramblings. You are appreciated!

PublishingVocalLifeCommunity
18

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat3 months ago

    Dana! Yay! Congrats on your accomplishments! So cool that you were able to use Vocal as your portfolio! It's so amazing to be able to point back to your collection of incredible work! Not at all surprised you'd get a job like that. I recently had the opportunity to share my portfolio here as well. Grateful for this place. So happy you are still here:) I'm right there with ya, been on a "break" as well, but if they ever want me to leave this platform, I'll go kicking and screaming:) I love it here. Excited for all of your endeavors, my friend!

  • Stephanie Ginger3 months ago

    Dana - 12 days since you posted - and inspired to use your work on Vocal as a portfolio! And for the avoidance of any doubt, I am in awe of your productivity, your pithy observations and talented knitting of words and phrases... but most of all you obviously don't have the 'avoidance' gene that I do. Please don't leave. I've only just found you...

  • ThatWriterWoman3 months ago

    Vocal is a very social platform, and just like social situations, people need breaks! Loved reading your little check-in! Good luck with your projects Dana!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Your back!!!! I was just thinking about you yesterday and made some time to come check where you've been!! So excited for you that you're getting paid to do something you love and at the price you want!! That's crazy and so exciting to me!! Proud of you my friend and love that you shared this with us!! Congrats!! 🎉

  • Naomi Gold3 months ago

    That’s so encouraging to read! I’ve said from the beginning that Vocal should be utilized as a portfolio, but I lost sight of that. I started producing content I knew would get Top Story, but wasn’t my best. You’ve got a very solid portfolio here. I’m excited for you and inspired. Congrats. 🥂💕

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Oh congratulations my pal! I am glad to hear that and that's so cool you got a poetry job through the content writing work. I did notice your absence and yeah, I know I need to reply to your email lol. I keep saying I need to do that but work work picked up for me too actually...which has been a help. Hope you and the lovely other half are well and you're enjoying putting Vocal in the proper perspective. I'm glad to hear my bud from overseas is still going to be here cos I'd like cry and write an elegy or something if you disappeared. I have been as dramatic to Hannah lol...when she suggested something similar lol. Anyway, chap...loved hearing stuff and reading your writings. Even these kinds of posts are always full of charm and don't you fucking dare stop being a grumpy ass. I need back up! :)

  • Wooohooooo congratulations!!! That's like sooooo freaking awesomeeee!!! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 I did notice your absence but you did mention that you have other things that you're working on so I didn't get worried! I feel so happy for you! Thank you so much for sharing your success and happiness with us! 🥰🥰🥰

  • You do what you need to do, Dana. We'll be here for you.

  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    I'm so glad your body of work here was able to get you farther on your other goals! If you don't mind me asking, which freelance platforms would you recommend?

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Congratulations!!! And it's very good to hear from you again, too :)

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    I was wondering wth you were up to. I happy to hear of the other projects paying off. Woohoo. That is great, my friend. Welcome back.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Stoked for you Dana!!! Thank you for checking in!!! 💕♥️♥️

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Congrats on your current successes and best of luck on all future endeavors. See you on Vocal or wherever our paths may cross.

  • Test3 months ago

    Definitely wornsered where you were at-Very happy to be 'stuck' with you Dana! That's an amazinf achievemnet also -I'd be completely stoked too!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wonderful to see you again! Good luck with all your endeavors!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    You SHOULD be stoked, you're living the dream!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    I was just thinking of you today! And surprise, you popped up in notifications :) I've been going in spurts on here, and I'm ok with that. You gotta do you! And you're doing it so well. How incredibly awesome you got paid to do what you love! So happy for you, big bro :) Love, lil sis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.