Writers logo

I don't have the time

Is there another way?

By Liam StormPublished about a month ago 2 min read
5
I don't have the time
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Hi, this is the first non-fiction piece I've ever written and uploaded, so it feels a bit weird just to be writing it.

And so we get to the crux, I adore this site and community, and wish I had more time to read the stories that some of my favourite authors on here write, however I just don't have the time in my day to day life to read a lot of them.

A lot of my “allocated reading time” as I like to put it, is whilst driving, and I listen to audiobooks. I work long hours, and when I get home I spend time with my girlfriend and two dogs, doing chores and all the other things that come with being alive, as I would hope everyone is aware of.

It got me to thinking that there could be a way that Vocal could introduce some kind of a text-to-speech system that allows us to click a button and.. Bam! We can listen to the stories we want to.

Now, here at this point, I'd like to apologise if this had been brought up or addressed before but as per the whole point of this post, I haven't seen it if it has. If you know of it, I would love to be tagged, so please leave a link in the comments!

Often, however, the text-to-speech audio can be very monotone and the inflictions on specific words or even numbers are just plain wrong. Not to mention, for me personally I love sci-fi and fantasy, which come with the authors creating their own names of places and people. So here comes my suggestion, if at all possible (I really don't know if it is); an option when you upload your story, to turn on your mic and read it allowed, which gets published alongside/within the story, and allows other readers to listen to it. Not dissimilar from voice notes on social media and texting apps.

I have recently come to find myself thinking that this could be an incredibly useful tool for Vocal (and its users) to have, also very apt to its name, and I would find myself coming back to listen to new and old creators a lot more.

I've got no idea if this is something that other people would want, or even use, but I figure that there's no harm in it being there? If you don't want to use it then you don't have to, etc etc, also maybe with the option of being able to stop the playback as the author at any time if you no longer want people to listen to it.

But please tell me what you think in the comments, or even if you think I'm being completely ignorant to something already here and usable, or ignorant to something else entirely, or if it's not at all possible.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, I do really appreciate it!

I've got a few fiction stories up as well, so if you don't mind a bit of shameless self plugging feel free to check them out on my profile and let me know what you think!

VocalPublishingCommunity
5

About the Creator

Liam Storm

I currently work as a thatcher, but love the art of writing a narrative, currently I am working on putting my ideas onto paper and creating a book. In the meantime I create short stories to keep myself, girlfriend and two dogs entertained.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming8 days ago

    I think this is a great idea! I have linked some of my stories to my Spotify where you can listen to me reading my stuff but like you, I have limited time to do anything and am already committed to writing a microfiction every day so to then audio record them in top of thst? Not going to happen. If there was something easy though, built into Vocal then that might take away that time management factor.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    You know what, I feel that it is a brilliant idea! Vocal would actually be Vocal. I don't think I'd personally use that feature but I think it would be useful for many people, including you!

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    Great idea, check Resources for the days when you can offer your idea in a direct post to Vocal. Raise you voice and other posts are available. You have company on the wishing you could read more. I just do what I can. It is hard to keep up. Goodluck.

  • JBazabout a month ago

    Well said for your first non fiction. I think it is a good idea. You could dictate on your phone now then transfer.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.