Writers logo

How to Get Out of Your Head as a Mother of Three

Starting out on my writing journey while being constantly interrupted by my kids

By Gabriela Trofin-TatárPublished 26 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
30
How to Get Out of Your Head as a Mother of Three
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

Writing has been my hobby and ally for a long time. The written word has strength and can literally change lives. Words do good and they have the power to build and create worlds, like Lego pieces build up a castle. I’ve written in hardcopy journals and online blogs. At some point in time, it stopped. The urge to write was lost among books to read and piles of little clothes to wash.

Becoming a mother, I have lost my inner voice. For a long time, there was no space for my own thoughts. It was as if everything else occupied my mind completely like fog trapping every single inner idea that was about to emerge. Instead of ideas, worries of all sorts came to my mind, for which I was not prepared. I was also unprepared for the change motherhood meant to my inner self. Writing turned into escaping, through reading — craving the worlds created by others, in order to avoid my fears.

There was a time, before kids, when I could write without being disturbed, in silence or with music. That feeling was of peace of mind. That was a time before adulthood. I laugh now. There is no peace of mind anymore, literally. Nevertheless, I do feel peaceful in a new strange, present way. I have changed in the past years and it feels as if the words want to come back, from the depths of my soul, to express and conquer new worlds. I am aware of who I became, and I am present. I can choose what and how I want to be from now on.

Writing now means something different than before having kids. I am a mother of three under seven. It has been a beautiful and exciting journey. Since our youngest started talking, chatterboxes times 3 are always present — summer holidays are on now. They are also always hungry. Surprisingly, my urge to write became suddenly really strong. I have uncovered the authentic me, emerging through the crazy wild mess of every day. Writing now means raging thoughts, needing to get out of my head into a structured piece.

My thoughts are not always structured. Therefore, I have decided to start writing and get better at it, despite the constant interruptions from my kids. My writings will include thoughts and processes from my studies and future projects. I will also tell you more about my undergoing career change from customer service manager to full stack developer.

My motto is to keep it simple and clear. The stories will emerge, will push to get out of my head just like my raging thoughts.

Welcome to my world! I hope to connect with many writers and readers, through constructive discussions.

I leave you with one of my favorite quotes, which illustrates motherhood in its pure form and includes everything I feel and hope for as a mother of three. I hope you like it and I hope you will enjoy my stories.

“But there's a story behind everything. How a picture got on a wall. How a scar got on your face. Sometimes the stories are simple, and sometimes they are hard and heartbreaking. But behind all your stories is always your mother's story, because hers is where yours begin.”

― Mitch Albom, For One More Day

***I originally published this story on Medium.***

💗 Thank you for reading! Hearts, pledges, and tips are motivating me to write more. I appreciate your support.💗

You could also buy me a coffee or a tea and/or let me know your ideas in the comments section.

Inspiration
30

About the Creator

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Full Stack Developer in the making and mother of 3 littles. Curious, bookaholic and travel addict. I also write on Medium and Substack: https://medium.com/@chicachiflada & https://chicachiflada.substack.com/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • hurea4 days ago

    I feel you!

  • Nature Lover21 days ago

    Thanks for this, it feels so relatable! Congrats for top story! My fave part: "There is no peace of mind anymore, literally. Nevertheless, I do feel peaceful in a new strange, present way."

  • A poignant top story!

  • M.B Hesperia 24 days ago

    A proud moment. Congratulations Gabby. You truly deserve it.

  • Suze Kay24 days ago

    Gabriela, I'm so excited to see your evolution on here in the coming weeks days months and years! Writing is such a great mechanism for organizing and processing thoughts. My life is considerably less busy than yours, but I still have those days where nothing stops the madness like a good writing session.

  • Ameer Bibi24 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉 for top story 💐💐 your story is so relatable with many of us , yup it's very hard duty

  • Urban_mitoma24 days ago

    Please someone Can help me with $100

  • Christy Munson24 days ago

    I would imagine this story is very relatable to a great many Vocal creators and writers (and for that matter, creators generally). You’ve hit a universal nerve, so to speak. Even though this situation is different than mine, I appreciate your perspective. Thank you for sharingz Congratulations on Top Story! And on writing again!

  • As someone who’s hoping to start a family in the next 2 years, I am naively excited 😂 thank you for the warning

  • Mariann Carroll26 days ago

    It’s amazing how you are aware that you need that time for space for your own thoughts as a parents because the main focus of most parents it to provide for their family. Our self care and dreams become back burner

  • Zélia Alyie26 days ago

    "But behind all your stories is always your mother's story, because hers is where yours begin." >>this is so so so true and wonderful ending for your story! Happy to connect with you, Gabriela!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.