Writers logo

Get Inspired With Me

The Technique of Randomization

By Calie Judy BrooksPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
Get Inspired With Me
Photo by Whitney Wright on Unsplash

I didn't want to write in my other stories (I lacked motivation) so I decided to write something entirely new with a different concept than usual.

The concept: With a random word generator, ask for five words. Put those five words somewhere where it would give you an image. If it gives you more than one, use a number generator to chose one. With this image, write something surrounding it. It would be best to create a short story rather than a full on trilogy. It defeats the purpose of this exercice if your story is too long. You could also use a number generator to know how many words should be in your story, but that's entirely up to you and it has risks...

Example: With the generated words bread, carbon, ensure, chicken and virus. I got the image from the cover.

Title: Bread, Butter and Milk

Story:

Dear daughter,

I'm sorry, I can't be there for you anymore.I'm sorry I couldn't be there a bit more for you. You just turned five, but you'll already be alone in this world. Very soon, I won't be there for you anymore. I was alone too until you came in my life. You brought me joy and erased any kind of loneliness in my heart. You're my world, and I wouldn't want to live without you. I can't live without you. I was barely older than you when I had to fend for myself. Today, you'll have to do the same. Believe me when I say, I would have wished things to be different for us. I wished we weren't fated to a destiny of solitude. But my past caught up to me. I can't run away from it forever, staying with you would put you in danger. I fear your pain more than I fear my loneliness or my disappearance. So, with a heavy heart, I'm leaving you. If you're reading this, I'm already gone. I'm sorry.

I left you with everything you need, to survive. I hope it will be living, not surviving one day. But I know how hard life is, and how it is when you don't have anyone to help you.

I know how much you like my lemon and poppy seed bread, so I left you everything I could to make them. I left you the recipe, the dried out ingredients and everything else, keep it away from moisture unless you want to bake it or lose it all. I leave you with butter and milk. Save it if you can, it's the only thing left. You have enough of everything, until you figure everything out. Until you're able to live and not survive.

I wish you all the best,

Your mom who loves you

Dear mother,

I'm older now. I know what happened. I know everything.

I survived, then I lived.

Your bread was good, so was the milk and butter.

I loved you too! Back then and now if you were still around.

For a long time, I was alone, like you were. You left so many things behind. All those things were for me. For me to learn the truth, for me to know you.

At first, I didn't know why you left, but I knew you loved me. And I loved you more. I trusted you. I grew older and doubted my trust. There were no way a loving mother would abandon their child. But I know now that the world is cruel place. You protected me from all that. And you protected me from you.

The bread was good. But one day, it became heavy of meaning. It became sour and unbarable. The lemon wasn't the cause of it. It was bitter with the butter. And the poppy seeds reminded me of what we could have had together.

I did the same thing you did, I planted the poppy seed. It grew and I made a bun. The bun in the oven gave me my daughter. As she grew, I understood everything. She was me, and I was you. She too loves my bread. I'm sad that it's the only thing that I can give her. She always asks for more, but I can't give her more without giving too much of me. I managed to save enough of myself until now. She's older that I was when you gave too much of you. But not old enough to see the next me. I wish I could explain everything to her. But she's too young to understand.

How old will she be when the poppy seed will be heavy? What if the poppy seed is never heavy for her, will she die alone? When will this generational curse be over? Could I have stopped it? It's too late now for me. If I stopped it here, she would starve and mostly die. I there a cure for this curse? If there is, I don't know anything about it. Maybe your mother knew, or her mother before her, or the first one of us. But now, it's too late, I'm going to meet you soon.

Your daughter

Dear ancestors,

I know everything. And I stopped the curse.

I'm the last of us.

Your descendent who you'll never meet

Important: It is not important to you like what you write here. It doesn't have to be well written either. It could be a story, a poem or just your thought on the image. The more you'll do this exercise, the easier it will be for you to find inspiration everywhere.

Variations:

Randomizing the number of words asked to the generator (preferably between 1 and 10).

Using the words instead of the image to create your story.

Using both the words dans the image for your story.

Choosing your own rules of randomisation (Ex. Make someone describe the image in X number of words and use those words for your exercice).

On that note, have a good writing session!

Writer's BlockWriting ExerciseChallenge
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.