Writers logo

February Writing Prompts

Just because it's a leap year

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 4 months ago • 3 min read
6
February Writing Prompts
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

“I saw that you were perfect, and so I loved you. Then I saw that you were not perfect and I loved you even more.”

– Angelita Lim

What is a writing prompt?

My basic definition of a writing prompt, is a statement, question, or thought that helps inspire a piece of writing. No two people will look at the prompt the same way which I think is pretty cool.

_______________________________

If you have read any of my writing before, you'll know that I am in love with love.

I can't help it. I just have always been obsessed with romance and I wanted to do a romantic prompts list for the month of February that was kind of similar to my October Writing Prompts Challenge.

What I had in mind for this challenge, was microfiction, poetry, and candid stories that relate to the prompt itself. Use your imagination and just go with it! I also truly love hearing about other people's real-life stories about love.

I had a conversation with my partner about how I grew up feeling like a princess locked away in a tower just waiting to find her true love to whisk her away. Trust me when I say this, I know I have always been in love with love.

Some of my favourite pieces of writing happen to belong in the romance genre. My favourite author, Amanda Hocking writes some steamy fantasy romance within her novels. Plus, some of my all-time favourite movies happen to be romance movies- such as, Remember Me starring Robert Pattison and Emilie de Ravin, and Titanic starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet.

So in honor of Valentine's Day (and the leap year), I have created a list of writing prompts for the month of February. Feel free to combine prompts or challenge yourself to complete them all with me!

The rules for this unofficial challenge will be at the bottom of the post.

I hope this prompts list inspires you this Valentine's Day to create, to love, and to share that love with others.

February Romance Prompts

  1. "First kiss"
  2. A poem based on the colour pink
  3. "Candy hearts"
  4. Write a love letter in the form of a poem
  5. "Dancing at midnight"
  6. "Forehead kisses"
  7. "The red string"
  8. "Roses"
  9. "Unrequited love"
  10. "Hopeless romantic"
  11. Romantic Playlist
  12. "Rainy days"
  13. "Reunited at last"
  14. "Valentine's Day"
  15. "Chocolate"
  16. "Marry me"
  17. "Safe place"
  18. "Night skies"
  19. "Your eyes"
  20. "Eternity"
  21. "Wearing your clothes"
  22. "Soulmate"
  23. "Flowers"
  24. "Opposites attract"
  25. "Falling out of love"
  26. "Romeo and Juliet"
  27. "Secret admirer"
  28. "Skin"
  29. "Broken hearted"

Rules of this Unofficial Vocal Romance Challenge

  • Only one entry per participant will be selected in the winner's list.
  • Challenge begins on February 1st, 2024 at 12 am CST.
  • I am not offering a monetary prize.
  • Deadline for entries is March 1st, 2024 at 12 pm CST.

Please comment on this the original post so I can make sure I view all entries.

I wanted this to be a fun challenge to get myself back into the habit of writing daily again after a short break.

Which prompt happens to be your favourite?

I think I am the most inspired over "The Red String" or the Romantic Playlist one.

I cannot wait to catch up on some of my reading and see what everyone comes up with for this challenge!

Thank you for reading! :)

Chloe Rose Violet🌹

Check out a few of my favourite romance pieces down below.

Check me out on Medium!

Writing ExerciseWriter's BlockPromptsInspirationCommunityChallenge
6

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Hi Chloe Rose Violet! I did prompt #22: https://vocal.media/confessions/no-other-way-to-explain-it

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    Fun! Definitely wanna give this a go!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.