Writers logo

Deep Dive into My Creative Process

Inspired by a prompt

By Gabriela Trofin-TatárPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
6
Kunst Museum Netherlands, https://www.kunstmuseum.nl/en/exhibitions/monet

I find prompts useful to the creative process.

They help the mind stop wandering and focus on a word or, in this case, a few already-provided questions.

This doesn't mean creativity is at risk, but the opposite. By focusing on less, I get more out of my imagination.

Here is today’s prompt, courtesy of @subhinajar

What is your favorite painting? How do you personally relate to/connect with this picture? It would be great if you could share a picture of it and tell us more about it

My favorite painting is Water Lillies by Monet. I find its wavy style matches my style of adapting to every challenge coming my way.

Can you write a text of fewer than 50 words explaining your favorite painting (the one in question 1) the way you see it?

I enjoy the color combination: the melancholic blues and the green plants seemingly in movement. The smell of the water is perfect and I see little fishes swimming in the depths. I can feel the delicate scent of the pink water lilies in my mind and I am ready to touch those soft waves.

Who is your favorite painter, and why?

Monet definitely matches my mood these days. His style is soft and the colors blend effortlessly. If I could I would transport myself in its paintings to feel the zen magic.

Monet’s world is a connection of water and sky, no worries and pure memories.

What is your favorite song? What are the connections you have with it?

I have more than one favorite song. Off the top of my head, the first one that comes to mind is Sympathique by Pink Martini. It makes me feel like wandering the city, oblivious to any engagements, no worries, free to roam, feeling like I could reach any distance on foot in my dancing shoes.

What is the song that takes you back to your childhood? Tell us more

Queen Bohemian Rhapsody is the one. It has the amazing power to take me back in time to when my dad used to listen to vinyls and we would look together through old black and white family photo albums.

What is the song that takes you to the memories or/ and status of love? Tell us more.

Britney Spears takes me back to my late teens, when I was roaming the Malls with my friends window shopping and looking at cute guys. That was not love as I perceive it now.

Love nowadays is more like this song, bouncy and in continuous movement. I like reggaeton for this.

In songs, what is your primary focus: the lyrics or the melodies?

Definitely the lyrics first and then the melodies. They are intertwined though, without one the song is incomplete for me.

Is writing more similar to music or painting? Let us know your perspective

Since I have always liked sketching, I can identify more with the painting process when writing. For me, words take their own life on paper as soon as I start pouring them out of my mind. Literally.

Is writing your only creative way to express yourself? Do you sing, play music, paint….etc?

I also dance, sketch, and cook intuitively. I also code.

If your favorite song had a color, what would it be?

Purple. Think of Purple Rain by Prince.

Well this felt more like an interview, but I do hope you enjoy it anyway.

If you know of other interesting prompts, rather for short fiction, please let me know in the comments section.

I originally published this story on Medium.

Thank you for reading! Hearts and tips are always welcome, and your support is very much appreciated.

You could also buy me a coffee and/or let me know your ideas in the comments section.

Writing ExercisePrompts
6

About the Creator

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Full Stack Developer in the making and mother of 3 littles. Curious, bookaholic and travel addict. I also write on Medium and Substack: https://medium.com/@chicachiflada & https://chicachiflada.substack.com/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nature Loverabout a month ago

    Purple Rain by Prince yessss!!! One of my favorite songs! Great to know you a little better, Gabriela! I loved reading this piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.