Writers logo

Building a Portfolio: An Author’s Journey to Financial Security

Why I’m Leaving Behind My Single Income Stream and How You Can Do the Same

By HeatherPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
1
Building a Portfolio: An Author’s Journey to Financial Security
Photo by Luke Lung on Unsplash

The Sweet Honey Pot of Newsbreak

For the past few months, I’ve been making a full-time income writing for Newsbreak, giving my take on various local news stories. Earning money based on the number of views my articles receive, it’s been the easiest money I’ve ever made. Writing just six articles of 250 words a day has brought in over $2,000 each month.

The Decline: When the Easy Money Dried Up

Unfortunately, things are starting to go downhill. My articles are not receiving the views they used to; instead of thousands, they’re attracting fewer than 10. I can see the writing on the wall: this too-good-to-be-true honey pot is drying up fast. It’s time for me to step out of my comfort zone and explore other options for diversifying my income.

The Need for Diversification: Building a Secure Future

I have focused all my energy on Newsbreak for the past few months because it was so lucrative. Now, I must cultivate multiple income streams, as it’s the only way to truly have financial security — unless you’re already a millionaire.

Finding Your Niche: Writing with Passion

The best niche for multiple income streams is something you’re passionate about. For me, it’s writing. My Autumn Harbor Romance series isn’t perfect, but it’s part of a journey. Following my online mentor Gary Vaynerchuk’s advice, I’m learning and documenting my progress as I go.

My Plan: Diversifying through Various Channels

I will learn as much as I can about self-publishing through podcasts, books, courses, and daily writing practice. Here’s how I’ll share what I’m learning:

  • Medium Articles: Sharing everything I learn about building an author business.
  • Vocal Media: Republishing Medium articles and participating in writing challenges.
  • YouTube: Turning articles into video scripts to overcome my shyness and enhance my skills.
  • Skillshare: Creating short classes on various writing topics once I’m comfortable on camera.
  • Udemy: Combining Skillshare classes into more extensive masterclasses on novel writing.
  • Zazzle: Selling merchandise with my book cover art, letting Zazzle handle production and shipping.
  • My Books: Using these streams to attract new readers to my fiction writing, my ultimate passion.

Embracing Change and Building My Own Path

While I’m grateful for my time at Newsbreak, its decline has pushed me to focus on building my own writing business. I’m ready to put in the work, knowing that what I’m creating will be more than worth it in the end.

I believe that if I strive, I can look back years from now and smile, confident that I shaped my destiny as an author. I’m not just diversifying my income; I’m diversifying my life, building resilience and strength for the journey ahead.

Originally published on Medium.com

Life
1

About the Creator

Heather

My dream is to make a full time living writing about the imaginary people and places in my head.

Check out my work at bio.link/heathercorbett

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • David Egwolo8 months ago

    Good day madam, i enjoyed this article, please could you write more on your financial struggles and how you overcame them so we can draw insight too.. thanks

  • David Egwolo8 months ago

    just what i needed to see. thanks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.