Writers logo

Aspirations for 2024

Vocal asked and I'm providing. Here's some musings heading into 2024 and what I'm aspiring towards this year

By Emilie TurnerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3

Vocal asked and I'm providing. I find it almost therapeutic to sit down and consider exactly what I'm aspiring towards in 2024. I love writing on Vocal and I love being a creator. I love the opportunity to slow down for a moment and truly think about my aspirations as a creator on Vocal this year.

2023 was a challenging year for me. I had a second child, lost a lot of motivation and struggled to write. I love writing, I always have, but 2023 really stole my love of writing from me.

I had so many goals, so many aspirations and dreams for the year. I was strong for the first few months, but when my son was born I struggled with post-partum depression and my motivation vanished. I didn't hit any of my goals for the year, and as disappointing as that was... I am glad that I prioritised my mental health and paused my goals in 2023.

I have come into 2024 with a fire in my heart and I'm ready to write hard and work on my goals this year! I really want to challenge myself by writing new forms. I'm going to explore more sci-fi genres and magical realism. I really like exploring those genres and I want to see how magical realism goes.

I'm planning on entering as many challenges as possible on Vocal this year. I find so many of the competitions challenge my writing and expand me into new genres and styles of writing that I find challenging and exciting.

I love reading what other people submit to challenges as well and I can't wait to read more entries and explore the poets' category more this year. I love supporting other creators by reading their content and liking/commenting on pieces I really enjoy.

I'm looking forward to entering more challenges to continue to grow my creative skills and writing ability. I want to be able to put more of my content on vocal for other creators to read and enjoy.

I'm hoping that entering these challenges will help me grow my abilities more. I have a manuscript that I'm working on that I really want to finish this year and each Vocal challenge helps grow my ability and continue to inspire me to keep writing. I'm really looking forward to what 2024 will bring!

ChallengeVocal
3

About the Creator

Emilie Turner

I’m studying my Masters in Creative Writing and love to write! My goal is to become a published author someday soon!

I have a blog at emilieturner.com and I’ll keep posting here to satisfy my writing needs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I am glad that you are feeling better, Hugs to the little ones and your family. I look forward to seeing your writings and comments on stories. Best of luck for this year.

  • Mason Darnielle4 months ago

    I hope you get so inspired this year :) Cheers!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.