Writers logo

A Visage of Hope

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
A Visage of Hope
Photo by Adrien Taylor on Unsplash

I love taking care of Momma because Momma takes good care of me. Momma brought this house completely which she lived in for many many years from Dad's pension. My parents loved each other. They raised me to know everything I could possible learn. Momma would never stop trying to teach me. She wanted me to be the smartest man on earth. And she would do everything in her power to make sure that I learned everything and I mean everything about what life, love and hope were. When I was young my father taught me what a man is and later on he told me what he saw in Momma that made him marry her. He loved her affection, her compassion and her gentleness and the fact that she put up with him for all these years. Dad was a good man from my point of view. I never saw much of his bad side. And now I am taking care of Momma, Momma is up in years and she is independent but she also struggles from time to time. Momma keeps dreaming about her past. And it sometimes get dark and mean spirited. She sometimes have these nightmares about her and Dad. And sometimes when I wake her up she would be fighting. Momma never been that sick before and she never been crazed. Momma had some illness but most of them were under control. And then one day Momma and I had a fight. She told me that Dad did not want to be my father and that I could be from another man. I cried and took a walk. How could Dad not be my father? How could Momma say those things? How could this happen? I was thinking as I was walking. Then I met an old friend, my neighbor, He saw me talking to myself and questioning whether to go back taking care of Momma. Momma's longtime neighbor said that there were things happening in that house. He doesn't know for sure but my parents got distant and into a lot of fights when I was away. And I finally got the gut to tell him what Momma said. And he said She raised you and that man raised you. She is still your Momma. Don't let her stop you from loving her as she loved you. You make her love you. You make her see. And I told him that I would asked my cousin to help. So I used his phone to call my cousin and asked her if what Momma said is true. She first went around the bush as the old saying goes and then she finally admitted. And she told me that I had another sibling but something happened to them. And my cousin apologized for me finding out this way and she hung up. So I told my neighbor and he said like I said don't let nobody stop you from loving that woman. She was willing to die for you at one time. No matter the past, this is the present. No matter the pain this is your time to choose respect and love. And I told the neighbor that I would and I cleaned myself up and left. And the neighbor gave some more advice while I was leaving, Remember Son she is your mother, she has an illness, be merciful, be compassionate, and be gentle. Don't be intimidated and don't be angry. So I promised him. I walked quietly into the house and Momma made Fried Chicken, homemade biscuits, macaroni and cheese and turkey smoked greens. I waited and ate and smiled at Momma. And Momma said she was sorry. I told Momma I forgive her but I wanted to know the full truth. And she said that my father was somebody else because the father you knew made me give up one child. I did not want to but he did. And you were the second and I refused to give you up. Even if that meant not another child. And I poured my heart into you, there. I love you and no illness, no sickness, no nothing can stop that you are my son. And I said I love you too Momma. And Momma was walking towards her room to cry and I stopped her along the way and hug her and kiss her cheek. The last years of Momma's life, we were working in the yard, walking, and laughing and joking and Dad was right Momma can cooked some Cajun Fried Fish as well as Fried Chicken. Momma lived long and her family prosper.

Life
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.