Writers logo

A Christmas with Sunny Collazo

A Getting to know me article

By Natasha CollazoPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
3
Puerto Rico 2021

In response to Mother Combs “Getting to know me Christmas Article” here is all things Christmas and getting to know me. If you would like to play along, see the link below. I think Vocal is a wonderful community with many good writers, and this offers a chance to get to know each other personally! So good move, Mama Combs!

https://vocal.media/confessions/a-christmas-visit-with-mother-combs

***************************************

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Natasha Collazo, but I go by Sunny. A nickname I did not choose for myself, but I have never heard my parents call me Natasha in 35 years, lol. My dad thought I smiled a lot when I was a baby and Sunny was born. I also drank eggnog in my bottle.

1. My first Christmas fun fact-haha.

I’m not sure why, when or how but I just remember being old enough to remember drinking a bottle, until I was like three and my mom putting eggnog in it. I can’t believe I said this out loud on the Vocal platform. This may start to explain things. So, with a name like Sunny and bottle fed eggnog, you probably guessed it! I’m from the North Pole!! … NOT. And far from it.

2. I am born in the sunshine state of Florida! Both of my parents are Puerto Rican. So, for Christmas fun fact number two, in the Puerto Rican culture, we celebrate with a very common Christmas drink called “Coquito”. If you’re Puerto Rican, you know what’s up. Below are the fancy ingredients I pulled from google, but spiced rum and eggnog will do just fine.

The ingredients are seen below:

  • Evaporated milk: This coquito recipe starts with a can of evaporated milk.
  • Eggs: Two beaten egg yolks contribute to the rich, thick, and creamy texture.
  • Cream of coconut: Canned cream of coconut lends richness and gives the coquito its signature coconut flavor.
  • Sweetened condensed milk.
  • White rum: The best rum for coquito is white Puerto Rican rum.
  • Water: Water thins the thick and creamy mixture, making it super pourable.
  • Vanilla: A teaspoon of vanilla extract.
  • Spices: Cinnamon and cloves.
  • No, this was not in my bottle but I wouldn’t be surprised.

Cook the evaporated milk and egg yolks in a double boiler until thick.Transfer the mixture to a blender and blend with the remaining ingredients.Transfer to glass bottles and refrigerator until cold.

And let’s see what else, for fun fact number three…

3. My favorite Christmas movie is The Grinch by Jim Carrey, obvi.

I am a huge die hard fan of ( not the Christmas movie, die hard…see what I did there) but of Jim Carrey! If I ever got a chance to meet Carrey, I’d imagine I’d sob like a little whiney baby that grew up on eggnog.

4. My favorite Christmas song is “O come, O come, Emmanuel.” I grew up in a very musical family, and my dad was actually the music leader of the southern Baptist church I grew up in. So if there’s anything we know, it’s gospel, hymns, and Jesus!

5. Which brings me to fun fact five, every year for Christmas we go Christmas caroling with the teen girls of a ministry I’m involved in at my church. We have a bus ministry and theses girls come from different backgrounds and never really know what it’s like to have a family love on them. So, we take them to visit the elderly so they can be a blessing. Our annual Christmas party will be next weekend.

6. You’re gonna hate me for this one, but every year on Christmas morning, I go to the beach ( I think I mentioned somewhere that I live in Florida). Im single, zero kids, and my family usually gets together the night before IF we even get together. My family has endured so much dysfunction over the years that it makes holidays not so jolly, but every year I’m alone on this day and before you feel bad for me, just know I highly enjoy my annual quality time with just my Creator and I.

7. Though, I’m a bit grinchey around this time of year, don’t mistake me. I love Christmas orchestras, live-shows, theatre and ballet! Which I have yet to see in person. Broadway is also on my bucket list. I’ve been to New York a few times and even wandered down the streets of Broadway but I have yet to see a live one in New York ON Broadway.

8. So for number eight…. NEW YORK! I have been to New York for the Thanksgiving Macy’s day parade and have done the whole Christmas experience in New York City. Which I must say, I’ve been ice skating in Rockefeller center and tapped into my inner Kevin McAllister as I strolled down Central Park, and it is, exactly, how you would imagine it feels.

9. I can’t wrap Christmas gifts or bake for crap. So if you receive the present that looks like a Tyrannosaurus Rex wrapped it, it’s me. I’m the T-Rex. So nothing to see here. NEXT.

10. I believe in the birth of Jesus.

God rest ye, merry Gentlemen, let nothing you dismay.For Jesus Christ our Saviour was born upon this Day. To save poor souls from Satan's power, which long time had gone astray.Which brings tidings of comfort and joy.

So, to wrap things up, you’ve learned so far that I’m pretty much a few things. I’m an island girl, Latina, Florida native, bred on eggnog, IS an eggnog, AND a T-Rex, that has an unhealthy obsession with Jim Carrey and Jesus Christ. …..And a partridge in a pear tree.

Thank you for reading, and I wish you a very, Merry, Christmas.

Me embracing the fake snow

Prompts
3

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU **

Project: The diary of an emo Latina

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    I love you story and getting to know you. I love being on the beach alone talking to God, too. Where I leave you can’t do that year round. The waves get frozen. I subscribe

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Thank you for playing along. I enjoyed learning these fun facts about you. Merry Christmas

  • Hahahahahahah you embracing the fake snow! So cute! Also, would it be okay if I call you Sunny? I'd only try eggnog if there's no egg in it. So that makes it just nog then. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Hahahahahahha wrapped by Tyrannosaurus Rex. No wait, because same! I too cannot wrap gifts! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.