Writers logo

60 Second Storytelling

Eclipse Prompt Inspired by Matthew McConaughey's Example

By Judey Kalchik Published about a month ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2024
40
60 Second Storytelling
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

Matthew McConaughey wants you to know about the best thing he's made with his pants on.

Let's allow that to simmer there for a moment. Go on, read it again.

I don't know about you, but it makes my mind race a bit... and it races to a pants-less Matthew McC. (This is not unwelcome, IMO). And I think that's exactly what he wants.

Matthew and his wife Camila have come out with their own brand of tequila: Pantalones. He gave Jimmy Fallon a quick product pitch when he was a recent visitor on Jimmy's Tonight Show.

He did it in 60 seconds, following this formula:

  1. Make it a story
  2. Connect the product to the story
  3. Add some numbers to back up the pitch
  4. Use humor

Here's how it went:

Now: Do it in Writing

This is an unofficial prompt.

The only prize is glory... and that I will make a post that includes all entries... AND declare a winner.

Alright? (Alright, alright, ALRIGHT!, amiright?)

The details:

  • Write an elevator pitch that could be spoken aloud within 60 seconds. (1-25 points)
  • Use the structure above to do so. (1-25 points)
  • The product is something associated with the upcoming Solar eclipse. It can be something that already exists or something you make up. You do you. (1-40 points)
  • Link to this prompt somewhere in your post, and add it as a comment to this post. (5 points for each). If it isn't linked here I won't for sure know you've done it.
  • It can be posted wherever you like, based on Vocal's standards of wordcount within the various Communities.
  • All entries to be completed by (ummm- checks calendar...) midnight your time on April 8, 2024.
  • If you record yourself and include it in your post you will delight me to no end... and I'll give the entry 20 additional points automatically to reflect the going above and beyond.

OK- What else?

Just like micro fiction, which forces us to distill what we write in a concise manner, to narrow our focus to a concentrated concept, the ability to deliver a smooth elevator speech is a handy thing to cultivate.

Job interview coming up? Be ready to give a 60 second reason for why you are the correct choice.

Sales role? C'mon; you already use this, don't you? Adding the story element to your usual pitch will turn that features/advantage/benefits into a sold and happy customer.

Negotiating with teenagers. (First- good luck. I promise nothing. NOTHING. Teenagers are HARD.) Give it a try and let me know how it goes.

Networking? Be ready with a 60 second pitch as an answer to 'So, what do you do?'

I look forward to seeing your entries!

~~~~

Comments welcome.

  • Don't forget to add a link as a comment once your entry goes live!
  • Subscribe to me at the always-has-been low low price, highly affordable no matter your economic situation, guaranteed to give you MUCH MORE than it costs: exactly NO DOLLARS and NO CENTS! That's right! It's free to subscribe, AND it's free to submit an entry into the challenge!

Prompts
40

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • kp16 days ago

    i'm late! i know it won't get the glory ;) but i wanted to share it with you anyway! thanks for the fun and challenging prompt. https://vocal.media/poets/eclipse-companion

  • Grz Colm17 days ago

    Such a fun idea! 😂

  • Paul Stewart19 days ago

    Just to let you know...I tried recording it...it was crap...but still have published one...well waiting for it to be approved.

  • Leslie Writes19 days ago

    Thank you for the challenge, Judey! Here’s what I came up with https://vocal.media/fiction/total-eclipse-of-the-art

  • Lamar Wiggins26 days ago

    Of course I couldn't resist this fun challenge. Thank you for creating it! https://vocal.media/fiction/olar-eye

  • ROCK 26 days ago

    I love your creative notions for challenges; I am just not cut out for a lot that pop up. Congratulations on Top story Judey!

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Congratulations 💐 you on top story yeah the biggest prize is glory

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    More piss -take that pitch...but had a go ;) https://vocal.media/writers/chromognome

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Call Me Lesabout a month ago

    Excellent challenge idea! I'm happy just having been pointed to that clip lol Oh my. This is a tricky one but I'll have a think. I could definitely stand to improve on job interviews. Very least I am excited to read the entries!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • JBazabout a month ago

    Ooh, you make this so tempting to attempt. I like your thought process on this challenge. Congratulations

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Congrats on this getting Top Story, Judey! I'm glad, cos I completely forgot about it, lol!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Oh, this should be fun. Can't wait to see what everyone comes up with

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    So tempting, but I know I'm not going to have the time! I'm already spread thin. I look forward to the entries though.

  • Rene Petersabout a month ago

    Here's mine (and Mariann Carroll's) https://vocal.media/fiction/coffee-eclipse-indulgent

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Judey, I can't wait to see the entries! Sounds delightful.

  • kpabout a month ago

    🫡 aye-aye

  • Rene Petersabout a month ago

    I hate my fear of public speaking so much now... That's 20 points gone already. Who knows if I'll even think of anything. Started out great at writing in January but now it's sporadic. ☹️

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oooo, this sounds intriguing. Not sure if Mr Brain would be cooperative as he just published something new but I'm looking forward to reading all the entries hehehe

  • Sounds interesting. Good skills-building exercise.

  • The next Total Solar Eclipse in Australia is almost 4.5 years away 🥺… enjoy yours in a few weeks >

  • Leslie Writesabout a month ago

    Ooh, I’ve got an idea 💡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.