Writers logo

2024 for Autistic Acceptance.

My goals as a writer at vocal.

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
4
2024 for Autistic Acceptance.
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

Being autistic is fundamental to who I am. It’s part of why I don’t use terminology like person with autism, because it’s not a part of me that can be pulled from me. Not even just mentally, but physically as well. My body doesn’t move like everyone else, and my brain isn’t wired like them either. I’m clumsy, walk like a duck and often move in an almost Frankenstein’s monster sort of way. Taking autism from me would make me a completely different person entirely. So why wouldn’t it be rooted in my works? Even in my fictional stories, I like to imagine at least one of my characters being neurodivergent. Write what you know, is what I’ve heard time and time again. I like to combine what I know along with the unknown, things strange and unusual. My experiences combined with the supernatural or even just daily life. I want to continue to embroider bits of my autistic identity into each written work I create.

I’ve spent the last decade of my life especially searching for ways to create awareness around autistic lives. People are so often stuck in stereotypes that they don’t want to listen. People have even doubted my autistic experiences because I am not good with numbers, or don’t have just ONE intense fixation. I’m terrible with numbers, and I have many fixations. Stereotype wise, I do love dinosaurs and trains so I guess if I lead with those, people would be more willing to believe I’m autistic. I should have to convince anyone though, as autism is a spectrum not just in how it varies from person to person but in each person themselves. I write about my experiences in order to cement that, that my experiences may be similar to some but not all, yet others may be almost universal when it comes to autistic lives.

Here on vocal, one of my goals to make sure my word continues to educate but also brings for the acceptance we as autistic folks need. We need to be accepted as who we are, and not constantly forced to adapt for a world not made for us. Accessibility includes neurological disorders. Autism awareness involves being aware of our existences and understanding additional needs. Acceptance goes deeper, it’s accepting those needs and accomodating them. Why must we adapt and use all of our energy to bring forth awareness when that knowledge can easily be found through autistic voices and creators not just here on vocal but all over social media as well. Id love to write non-fiction pieces this year highlighting autistic people who are also showcasing the autistic experience in their own way.

Acceptance Vs Awareness (chart from ASK - Advocates for Spectrum Knowledge)

Another one of my goals is to publish more of my short stories and chapter works featuring autistic and neurodivergent characters. I post a lot of my poetry here, but not nearly enough of my fiction. I’d like to push past fears for more feedback in order to further sharpen these characters. Id love to publish a short story book someday filled with autistic characters of various levels and experiences. I want 2024 to be a year where people meet these people I’ve created in my mind and put on paper, they’re getting quite lonely only knowing me!

Inspiration
4

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paige 4 months ago

    Love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.