Wheel logo

The start of car Photography

By Tom Stubbs

By Tom stubbsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo taken on 28th April 2020 in Tenby , Wales

Hi ,

First, I am going to introduce myself, my name is Tom Stubbs. I have a passion for cars and have recently started taking photos of my car which I have owned for the last year and a bit. I am 19 years old and live in a small seaside town called Tenby in Wales, UK which I love !

I am a proud second owner of a 2015 Audi A3 1.4 turbo. When looking for my car I was certain to get an Audi there was no other option for me as that’s what I wanted. When buying I was over the moon and was really excited to start modifying it the way I wanted. I had many goals and plans on what I wanted my car to look like which has rapidly progressed the past few months due to coronavirus boredom. I couldn’t be any happier with how the car has turned out that’s the reason for creating a car page on Instagram to show my followers the steps I have gone through to get my car to the way it looks now.

The mods I have done to the car from totally standard include: 5% window tints on the rear 3 windows, black badges all round, gloss black honeycomb grill, dechrome all round, custom remap, K&N cold air intake, Painted callipers with Audi detailed stickers (yellow), gloss black team dynamic 1.2 18” alloys, rear Rieger diffuser with yellow pinstripe, Triple R Composites (TRC) side skirt extensions with yellow pinstripe, Triple R Composites (TRC) front lowering splitter with yellow pinstripe. So I have done a fair bit to the car but really happy with how it looks!

When starting my Instagram back on 18th October 2019 I was unsure how to take good looking photos of my car since never doing it before but over the past few month I’ve watched endless photography videos and editing videos to enhance the photos I take! At first I just created the Instagram as an easy way to look back on the changes I have made to the car and its had a fair amount of attention and also noticing that’s what a lot of other people have been doing too, to show of their own creativity in their cars!

From the image above I got my inspiration form my hometown in Tenby, as it is known as Balamory for having lots of colourful houses which are all lined up along the seafront. The camera I used was a Nikon 1 which was my mum’s old camera I found in the attic and was unsure how to properly use it. To get this shot I wanted my car to be the main of the shot with the endless colourful houses behind it ! with it being a black car it stood out really nicely. This was just the start of my car photography using a proper camera not just my iphone and I was amazed by the quality that could be achieved.

I took multiple photo at many different angles along the back street in Tenby shooting interior shots, side profits of the car, high shots, low shots, and also in front and behind the car to get a full variety of photos. Once I got home from the shoot location, I uploaded them straight to my computer to begin editing them in Lightroom in many different styles. Due to it being quite a dull/cloudy day I boosted the colours of the houses and made the overall photo to enhance the black of my car to make it stand out. Another edit I also tried was toning down the colours and having a black and white theme with the yellow pinstripe on the splitter and side skirts the main focus point which gave the photo a bit of colour.

As shown above that is the final result which I am really happy with the attention to detail that the camera gave me and lightroom to help enhance those photos. I am looking for more creative places to shoot each day and different locations around my hometown.

Thanks for reading

Tom Stubbs

photography
3

About the Creator

Tom stubbs

recent starting car photographer

Instagram - TS11UBS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.