Wheel logo

The Racing Mentor

By, Darius Cherry ft. Jess Shanahan

By Darius CherryPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

I referenced Jess in the story " Why being a track/enthusiast makes me happy" and I will touch on a few points why she is part of the process.Her book she wrote "Get Paid To Race" describes and list the proper steps it takes to get a sponsorship. If you are asking if I emailed Vocal to apologize about the slander in the story "Passion vs. Dedication"... I did and they responded with "there was no slander". The reason being they understand I am passionate about writing and race cars. I don't have to explain to them something they hear everyday when someone is expressing themselves through their work.

In the book Jess has taught me that to be in this industry you need money, which I have been hearing. I didn't realize I need to see it for myself when the world was ending. It was another refresher on what was nearly impossibly at the time to become a reality faster then I thought. I would have to find the proper tools and research for racing like my other racing guru Memo told me, but this time there was no car. I discussed my story before I started writing and she told me I had to find away to make that a pitch for a sponsorship. I had a few ideas before vocal,but everyone was already far ahead posting race cars they didn't total. Then she added a social group on Facebook called Side Hustles.

Side Hustles are jobs that usually show up as passive income to fund your race team. I kept displaying my talents too early and she accepted me as an inspiration, because I decided not to give up. When opportunity knocks I treat that like someone giving away a free car, come on in and give me my keys. I have entered a few car giveaways on Instagram through other car enthusiast pages. You can't knock the hustle if I have to purchase something, to earn something you have to work for it. To enter a sweepstakes you have to work for the money to pay to enter. That is why it is not called luck unless you stole the money. I started to just focus back on myself and started working until I received an email for an interview from her assistant. I was asked "What is my process to fund my plans to race?" and I have my been honest from the beginning. I continued to trust the process and things started unfolding. I will even post the article and my title since that same picture is on vocal for a refresher.

"Trust the process"

So I have been asked "why don't I just build or buy my own race car?" That is not by Jess either, this was from people who I understand do not have the same discipline as me. Yes you need your own car and I respect those who build the cheapest cars, but as you can tell from my writing you have to put in twice as much discipline and dedication to drive at a high level of driving. I hate to take this off track, but we need to detour back to the Acura Type S because that would have been the process I described in my interview.

"In the beginning Darius created the car and the road"

As I was growing up I always had this fantasy of going from a car enthusiast to a professional race car driver. I know a hundred million other kids had the same plan, it usually comes from seeing it on a screen or in real life through spectating as a fan. I just learned to start executing, but my habits started to pull me the wrong way which led to karma. The Acura Type S has been a very popular track car, I had the quickest way to the top. I just never had the expenses to track it, but I knew baby steps. When I met Memo in a shop I was trying to adjust the suspension and he asked me "what track are you going to?" My response was "the one I can afford", it was this quiet back road behind the place I lived at with the crazies. When they were sleep or being crazy I would use the turns to practice gripping the road at higher rates of speed. Usually this would be done in japan at night or other places difficult roads can be used to practice different track tiers of driving. Some people just like the thrill of closed off private roads they don't want it as a profession on a track. An example of that is Ken Block and HOONIGAN Gymkhanas. That isn't how I totaled it, I was driving home from a car meet and please do not litter, because my car is very low to the ground and trash along with a crumpled up plastic bottle was caught in the wheel hub as the wheel turned the bottle was caught between the control arm and the strut causing the wheel to lock up and spin the car hitting the gaurd rail. That car did get away with a lot of things though like a camera highway ticket caught one twenty three miles per hour. Oh yeah I don't record or do that flashy stuff, only track footage. I did play with it, I don't condone street racing though find a track please. Car meets are encouraged,but lets give the people that want to enjoy life their road back. Some of you can't properly build a car anyway, for example my Acura shouldn't pull on your brand new BMW M4 in third gear, going eighty miles per hour at ninty-five hundred rpm. Yes that happened I didn't record it because, I am not that rude. It's like when you end up learning from your mistakes will put you in a better position and give you a better process.

This is still the deep part of the process as you read a long my stories that have been published. Every story you have read has been a part of the process and Vocal has bonuses for writing stories and guess who needs to fund a race team. My work is done in the silence, for that that to happen you need to learn discipline and a survivor mentality. Those traits were already given to me through life I also said in the interview I do ride share. I live in Phoenix,AZ I live where people would need a ride in the metro area for certain places. I like to go out to, but I don't want to tempt myself to speed, I mean I will eventually end up build a daily driver that is a race car. Street racing isn't good, but at least I can control where my speed and car goes. I walk places, because at some point as a race car driver you have to walk the track and learn certain spots to avoid and improve on. I might as well stop being lazy now and now that I have revealed my first part of my plan I have to stop before I ruin my own success. I do want to thank Jess though, I understand she just wrote a book and I wanted to write a book, but she has a better way of telling the story. I also enjoy writing with vocal a lot more,because they gave me the opportunity to back up my statement of supporting myself. Which means now its water under the bridge of the race track I soon to be driving on! Please check out her Instagram, I have tagged her in a few of my post on my page if you are interested in learning about the other drivers and information she has.

racing
2

About the Creator

Darius Cherry

All my Stories are connected

follow my IG: @writerontheblock21

Track and Car enthusiast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.