Wheel logo

Miata The Universal Roadster

By Darius Cherry

By Darius CherryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
MX-5 Miata

That is not a stock Miata obviously, my good friend Austin drives this as his drift car. The 2001 Miata is a roadster from the factory with 142 hp, stuffed inside a 1.8L 4 cylinder. It gets decent mileage in gas, but if you are asking yourself am I reading a brochure then maybe I don't know what you call it. All I know is this is another car that can change its class based off its look from the factory. From SCCA road racing to Drifting like my buddy in his.

See he can send it side ways! Its not just a car you can daily drive, I only talk with track and car enthusiast. Austin worked his butt off for his, as I witnessed. He even built his up the way he wanted to, he his dedicated to his build and passion like he told me growing up. His Miata was fitted with 1.6 L 5 speed, VLSD rear end, 16in wheels, 205 45r16 tires. Federal brand tires Factory brakes, with a Sikky hydraulic handbrake, pass through 5/8 Willwood cylinder on the handbrake.

His interior was nice even had a roll cage for the track, but as you can see the Miata is nothing to mess around with. I have seen multiple examples of this car succeed, it handles the road so well because of how small and low it is to the ground. Mazda has been known for its other cars like the rotary, but the Miata is slept on as a good starter car.

No doubt I should have started with this when I moved here, I don't regret it. Everything works out in the long run, just have to air out my top like the Miata. The solution to a Miata in the long run is obviously money ,but if with the right budget it can be a track car. It can be a hobby or you can face your fears and go all out. The newer Miata is still at the top of the roadster class especially in price. Now do I need a convertible in my life, the answer is no. I will tell you why, I had a convertible before and it just wasn't my forte. I got out and recently getting track time, but since my buddy introduced me to this car we might as well enjoy it together.

I can relate to this car in a lot of ways though, it has a sense of reliability. I would need a good city car for living in downtown. It has quite the sound system, speakers in the headrest last time I rode in my buddies Miata. I recommend this car to everyone, track and car enthusiast. Before I moved to Washington State I was working at Tyson's Corner. As I was entering my workplace I was in the garage and I witnessed these two Miata's mismatching colors on their cars. Also they were carrying Christmas Trees, so it does make a great transporter.

So I think its safe to say that the Mazda Miata will always have a place on the road. They will always a place in the hands of car and track enthusiast. This car has a mass production and aftermarket like the type S except the type S ended up stopping. The Miata is a roadster that keeps going and still drives like a sports car. I would add it to my list but, I will let you guys buy it and show me you can do better. My buddy Austin sure did, that's why he got this story. He can put in work and put his life together just as fast as it fell apart. That's why the Miata is the best budget car.

racing
2

About the Creator

Darius Cherry

All my Stories are connected

follow my IG: @writerontheblock21

Track and Car enthusiast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.