Wheel logo

First Time This Year On My Motorcycle

A late start, and we did see a few others on the road who love riding too!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6
First Time This Year On My Motorcycle
Photo by Gelmis Bartulis on Unsplash

I used to ride a motorcycle in my teens until I was 24. I was riding in soft sand by my mother's house when I slid off my bike. I was seven months pregnant. She made me promise that I would stop riding until my baby was twenty-one. My baby is 43 now and I have been riding again since he turned 21.

At the time I had a BSA, lime-green and chopped. It was great. That is the most I remember about the bike. I love riding and I loved riding then, even though I remember steering was difficult at times. I loved it was cheaper than driving a car and I felt so free on my bike.

My hubby and I went for a first ride of the year yesterday. It is later than usual. When we lived south of here a hundred and fifty miles it was at least 10 degrees warmer most of the time. He has been busy changing oil, airing up tires, and polishing his bike. He gave me a heads up that mine needed cleaning badly.

He said, "Gitter done if you want to ride with me today!" I told him that I just needed a time that we were leaving and I would be ready. We were taking a short ride to town and back today. We were riding on some back roads, as I have been nervous on my first ride of the year since living up north.

For one thing, I am getting older and my strength is not the same. My memory is not the same either. And there have been some physical problems. Okay, so now I understand why the kids are concerned. They think we are too old. I don't think it is that!

I think it is because I am not keeping up with exercise and strength building and I have stress and depression interfering with my brainpower. The hubby on the other hand keeps up with his physical self and he does some specific brain exercises daily. He doesn't appear to get depressed or anxious.

Hubby told me, "Don't get old too fast" yesterday morning, as I talked about needing a short ride first. I know that exercise and being more active will help me in many areas. It is just starting that is difficult.

I asked my husband if he wanted to add anything to my story. He said, "The Blue Hulk is on the road with Little Red Riding Hood following." Then he smiled and chuckled.

We have big bikes and our next bikes will be scooters. His blue hulk is a 1900 Stratoliner, while mine is a 1300 V-star. Big bikes. When I first started riding again, I bought a Suzuki 600 or 650? Don't remember now. My next bike was an 800 Volusia. Loved that bike. Comfortable ride.

My hubby told me when we were newer acquaintances that if I bought a Harley I wouldn't be riding with him as he likes to ride, not fix. Over the years he pointed out Harley's on the side of the road. He told me stories of which co-workers just got a new engine or transmission.

I road a Harley when on vacation. Why not Harleys? That explained it. Loud, shook, rattled and the seat was not comfortable. We have had so much good luck with our bikes. No breakdowns! Ever!

I thought it was because Harleys are expensive. And he is a bit on the cheap side. I did not marry a rich man. But he works hard, cared for his 4 children, and contributes better than his fair share to our lifestyle in retirement! I love riding, my bike and I love my riding partner! Not in that order!

motorsports
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Oh God, thank God nothing serious happened when you were pregnant. Apart from that initial heart attack you gave me, this was a wonderful story!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Nice story 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.