Wheel logo

Cloud Nine

by Deonte Tell

By deonte tellPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

The heavy pitter-patter of rain chimed harmoniously in the background as the lighting herald in the crackling thunder, the lightning arched in the sky above the otherwise peaceful neighborhood as the noonday heat had cooled from the cold downpour. Caught in its grip a man desperately runs to his car, who upon starting pulls out his phone after it had rung for his attention, the man’s eyes widened as he read the message. “Good afternoon Mr. Mathis, it is with great pleasure that I inform you that you have been selected for today’s challenge hosted by Suncloud Interactive if for any reason you cannot or would no longer wish to participate reply stop to cancel otherwise you will be automatically confirmed as a contestant for today’s event we look forward to your result -Suncloud Interactive Management”

Shortly after the center console of the car displayed the rotating image of a cartoon sun on a cloud followed by the automated voice of a woman which said.

“Hello contestant number 021 my name is Nova I will be your onboard AI assistant for the duration of the event please look closely at the screen as I begin the retinal scan implementing your temporary holo lens allowing you to see the course and confirm you have been registered for today’s challenge Slipstream Aqua. A time trial speed challenge along the marked path in the heavy rain with computer-generated obstacles and difficulties, having only 15 minutes you will be racing against AI-powered drivers based on current and past top performers to reach the designated finish line 34 kilometers away.

The grand prize will be rewarded to the 1st place winner and those in 2nd and 3rd albeit not the top prize will be awarded for their placements in the top 3. If in the event you come unto serious bodily harm and or danger as stated in our waiver and terms and conditions you will be provided the full range of support and assistance, as your onboard AI, I will be on standby to help you along the course and answer any questions you may have as well giving you real-time updates on your statues. Currently, please make your way to the designated starting point to begin the trial.’

I paused in perplexity as the directional yellow arrows twinkled into existence pointing me towards where I need to go, flickers of light gather en masses each one represented someone tuning in live from across the world, before long the surrounding area glistened and glittered like a sea of lights. My chest tightened as the beating of my heart silenced all else around me lacking at that moment any coherent form of consciousness I drove to the starting line, closing my eyes I prayed for victory as Nova initiated the count down,

‘The trial is about to begin on my signal you will begin…Get ready…Get set…Go!’

Despite the brief turbo lag the feeling of a knife slicing through butter, nor the satisfaction of starting an old lawn mower first try could compare to the blissful perfection of a solid takeoff, the rain parted in the presence of Mathis’s car off to a great start I am on pace to take the lead. Although it was short-lived due to a moment of shock and hesitation, causing me almost to lose control as I thought I had witnessed some sort of astral projection of myself tear-free before Nova informed me that those were the other simulated challengers I was competing with.

Watching them effortlessly glide around the bend, gathering my nerves, I quickly prepare as the first turn approaches. Turning the wheel, I hit the brake giving just enough throttle to ease into a semi-perfect drift around the bend. However, contrary to my prematurely brazen grin and internal celebration from the successful execution to my dismay, the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place contestants remained in front of me, so my foot instinctively leaned heavier on the pedal, rapidly increasing my acceleration.

The heavy downpour increasing in intensity reducing the world around me to nothing more than a blur. Along the course, a stray bolt strikes what had to be steel drum barrels creating a conveniently inconvenient vicious explosion violently leaking oil over the track, but it did not stop there oh, no, no, no! for not long after the oil caught fire stretching even further It was complete and total chaos.

Flaming barrels rolled by One after the other leaving not only me but the other racers just as disoriented as me. My car started to slide almost out of control before I put it in neutral and steered narrowly avoiding the barrels and another driver, a few feet in front of me one contestant spun out from getting its back wheel hit colliding into and flipping another driver over me.

As I used the spill's momentum and the already heavy falling rain to drift around the crash by a horrid stroke of luck most of the drivers were eliminated like this leaving only me to take first place. I watched in my rearview as the cars piled up; it was truly a sight to see picking up speed

The finish line comes into view, saying a small prayer for the others, I rushed to victory, slamming my foot on the gas upon realizing I have only 5 minutes remaining. But of course, like all things it does not end there as if a final act from God one last bolt of lightning struck down this time leaving behind a small pulse wave of electricity heading towards me,

although by this point, I was familiar with the contest shenanigans now, so it no longer fazed me. Instead of slowing, on the contrary, I increased my speed, then forcibly turning the wheel, effectively tilting and flipping the car over the wave. Despite it happening in seconds, it was as if the world gave pause, and all else faded out but me. But the moment quickly ended as my head spun in a whirlwind, the car landing on its wheels across the finish line.

‘Congratulations, Mr. Mathis, you have won todays challenge! But my sensors are indicating your vitals appear to be running low… Mr. Mathis please respond hello? Can you hea-‘

My eyes grew heavier as Nova cried out for my attention. Still, upon hearing that I had won, I gave in to the overwhelming oncoming drowsiness and faded out. When I eventually came to, I knew not how much time had passed, but I awoke in my car without a scratch on my car or myself. I then took out my phone to see there was a message from Suncloud.

‘we at Suncloud Interactive would again like to congratulate you on your victory thereby awarding you the grand prize of $20.000. As stated in the contract, all damages to the environment, your car, or you have been taken care of via our state-of-the-art repair and cleaning technology team and systems. In addition to the first-place prize for clearing the final obstacle, you have been awarded a surprise gift as an extra on us. We hope to see you again for another chance to win big. Have an enjoyable rest of your day – Suncloud Staff.’

That was when I noticed a little black book in my passenger seat. I open it up to read its contents briefly before closing and to put it down again. My eyes widen as my heart nearly leaped out of my chest, attempting to calm myself before crying out

‘Oh my god, I can’t believe this it’s!’

The end.

racing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.