Wheel logo

Can't Drive 55

That was Michael Waltrip's Car, but here's mine.

By Al RussellPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
2017 Jeep Cherokee

Ever since I could remember I always wanted to drive. Getting my driver license was the most important thing to me before I turned sixteen. Back then the school system offered driver training classes. I signed up and took the class. With my birthday being in May, I took the class in March and April. In Michigan we still had snowstorms and sure enough on one of my driving days with an instructor we had one. I remember being told to lose control of the car and then gain control back while in the school parking lot. That was one of the best lessons we could ever learn. I’m not afraid to drive in the snow, I know how to react.

Just before I was to take my test to obtain my driver license, my grandfather had died. That made us all pile in the car and drive to Massachusetts for the funeral. I wasn’t the best I could have been. This was important to me and now it’s being delayed. The family even through me a surprise birthday party in Massachusetts and I was still being a jerk. The day after we got home Dad drove me up to the Secretary of State Office and I took my test. I passed and then he let me drive to school. Of course, he came with me so he could take the car home. When I got home from school that day there was a card. It was from my grandfather, before he died, he was thinking of me. I will never forget how awful I felt with the way I was acting before.

My very first car I ever owned was a 1974 Ford Maverick. I paid five hundred dollars cash for it and kept it for about a year. I had an accident with it (no major damage) and sold it for three hundred. I then got a check from the insurance company for three hundred. Wow, I made money on that one. I’ve always been a fan of the Ford Mustangs and I bought a 78 Ford Mustang II next. This car was not a muscle car like must mustangs. It only had a four-cylinder engine. I liked it, but sold that one for a brand new 1984 Pontiac T1000. That one was only 5,995 and my first manual transmission. I never drove a manual transmission vehicle before, and I had to have my dad help me drive it home. I put on over a hundred miles that first day learning how to drive a stick.

My 1987 Pontiac Sunbird SE

It was great to learn how to drive a stick, but the T1000 was not the sporty little car I envision myself to be driving. The Pontiac Sunbird SE in 1987 caught my eye with those cool half headlight covers. I had to have one. That had to be one of my favorite cars to own. By now I seemed to be on a three-year cycle of buying a new car. So in 1990 I bought a 1990 Chevy Cavalier. This one was an automatic and after about I month I discovered I hated it. By 1991 I was able to trade that in for a 1991 Plymouth Sundance. Now we’re back to a stick and the funny part of this car, my little brother and I both show up at the parents to show off our new cars. Dad knew that we both were buying, but we didn’t know each other did. My brother had bought a Dodge Shadow, basically the same as the Plymouth.

94 GMC Sonoma

Going back to the three year plan my next vehicle was an 1994 GMC Sonoma truck. On this deal I walked into the dealership and told them I would offer them so much money for that truck, but they would have to give me so much for my car. I don’t remember the amounts, but they said ok. I drove that truck home that day. That was a fun vehicle that I broke the three-year cycle and kept that truck for six years. Liking the truck, I went back to Fords and bought a 2000 Ranger. It was ok, but I like the GMC better.

2000 Ford Ranger

In 2003 I had a couple dogs and it was hard to get them in the cab of the truck and be comfortable too. So, the 2003 Chevy Cavalier became mine. Three years later I traded in the cavalier for a 2007 Pontiac Vibe. I was longing for the manual transmission and this car had one.

That Vibe took us on many trips including twice to Florida and back to Michigan. While in Florida the Vibe even got to park on the beach in Daytona.

2017 Jeep Cherokee

In 2012 I traded in the Vibe for a 2012 Jeep Compass. I like this Jeep and the Dealership that I bought it from that I went back to them again when I traded in the compass for my current Jeep. A 2017 Jeep Cherokee. This is another fun vehicle to drive and I’m on my forth year with the Jeep. I don’t see myself trading this one in very soon.

When I was a teen I couldn’t wait to drive. Now forty years later and owning twelve different vehicles I’m still thrilled to drive. When I’m ready to trade in the Cherokee I’m thinking about going to the Grand Cherokee. The jeep Dealership has been easy to work with and with the customer service I’ve been getting on the maintenance I can’t imagine going anywhere else.

list
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.