Wheel logo

Buster the Magic School Bus

Me and my Bus

By Tammy HigginsPublished 3 years ago • 2 min read
Like

I never thought that one day I would have a school bus. I named it Buster, because it is catchy and I like puns, lol. It was built in 1986, but was last driven in 2004, at least that's what the license plate says. Cool story about how I acquired it though.

The bus was on a piece of property that I once lived on. About a half a mile down the road from where I live now and on the next ridge, I used to live with my Dad and his girlfriend a few years after my parents divorced. It was in the country, we had two horses, cats, pigs, rabbits, a dog, and a big garden we had to tend to. I can still hear my Dad tell us kids as we got off the school bus (not the one in the story, although that would be pretty cool) "Put your work cloths on", and we would work on the farm till supper time. Oh, how I miss those days. Anyway, fast forward a bit. My Dad and his girlfriend broke up after like 9 or 10 years I think. I know I'm missing a year or 2 somewhere, but as I turn 50 in just a week, my brain isn't as sharp as it used to be.

My Dad's now former girlfriend, was with only one more man before she passed and then a couple years later her last boyfriend passed. The land was hers, but the trailer was his. Her kids, the ones I grew up with and called my siblings, wanted to clear the land of everything on it. And on that land was a school bus. The last boyfriend was turning it into a camper, so he took out almost all of the seats, put in a stove and sink, and turned one of the seats around and added a table so you could sit and eat and stuff.

I asked her children what they were going to do with the bus and they said I could have it. I was so excited. They just wanted it off their land. They cleaned it out of the items that were theirs and I had it towed to my house. The tires were amazingly still full of air, thank God. And I just told the tow guy to "Yee-Haw It" to my house. If a tire went out or anything happened, just keep going, it doesn't matter. I knew I wasn't going to be driving it because it was going to be my she-shed, so I didn't care if anything happened to it. I would just repair it cosmetically, I was going to paint it anyway. Luckily, it all went smoothly.

It's been 2 years since I have had the bus and it is looking so cool. So far, 5 cans of white paint on the inside and one can of light blue on the outside. I was planning on painting it like the Partridge Family bus on the outside, but I changed my mind to hippy flowers and peace signs and stuff because that is the theme of the bus. Lately, I got crazy one night and painted the inside with a bunch of glow-in-the-dark paint, lol. It looks so trippy at night now. It still needs a lot of work, but I just take it one project at a time.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Higgins

Hello, my name is Tammy. I love the outdoors, my family, and Jesus. If it wasn't for The Man above, I would not be typing this. Tie dying tee shirts right now while working and writing my book. Faith and family always.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.